Creamy Dill Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I wanted to make this lighter so I used equal amounts of reduced fat mayonnaise, reduced fat sour cream and nonfat greek yogurt. I made this early this morning as I wanted it to sit and really mix the flavors together before dinner. I served sliced red peppers, broccoli flowerettes and carrot chips with this. Quite good! I'll make this again. I think this would be great with some fresh minced garlic and some diced green onion folded in, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
My mom has made this dip since before I was born and I love it. If you make it the night before you don't have to rehydrate the onion, just dump it in still dry and hard. It'll soften just fine. You can thin it with milk for salad dressing. For those not in the know, "Beau Monde" is a seasoned salt made by Spice Islands brand. There is a sub for it here on allrecipes but I've never tried it. You might want to if Spice Islands brand isn't available in your area. You could sub a different seasoned salt for it, but it is very strongly flavored so the dip won't be the same (not to say bad, just different).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
I've been using a variation of this one for 20 years. I use minced fresh onion, and I use alot, possibly making a dill onion dip. Sorry, but I can't even IMAGINE this one served hot. Beau monde provides salt, so be sure not to add salt if using the beau monde.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
I love this recipe. I make this every year and yes, it best made the day before. I follow the recipe exactly and each time it is perfect. I would not change a thing. I keep Beau Monde on hand, this is so good any time of the year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: The Colony, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
We've used a version of this for years and LOVE it. We use chopped green onions in place of the dried and serve it in a pumpernickel bread bowl. The pumpernickel is also really good with the dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
I thought this looked like an interesting recipe and tried it for a recent gathering. The guests loved it. Many asked for the recipe. I think it is better hot, rather than cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Excellent dip! Just loved it with fresh veggies. It reminds me of a recipe I lost a long time ago but have never forgotten. Can't wait for an excuse to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
Makes a lot of dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This is delicious as a veggie dip. Our favorite veggie was peeled fresh English cucumber spears, but it goes with everything. Instead of dehydrated onions, I used two green onions (white and green parts) finely minced. I had no Beau Monde seasoning, so I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and used 1/4 tsp each of celery seed, salt, sugar, and onion powder. Worked fine. Chilled overnight as directed & that improved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This is the best dill dip recipe!I used light mayo and light sour cream and it was excellent!Make sure to make a day in advance then you do not have to rehyrate the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

Saint Paddy's Dill Dip

A colorful, creamy dip that’s perfect for celebrating St. Patrick's Day.

Fruit Dip

Dunk fresh fruit into a sweet and creamy pineapple-flavored dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States