Creamy Cucumber Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2000
Was very runny. Should I have seeded the cucumber? The recipe did not say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2000
I did seed the cucumber, which appears to have eliminated the "runny" problem that another person described. All in all, I enjoyed this dressing very much. It's a great, lite summer dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2001
I de-seeded the cucumber as others suggested but it was still watery. I don't think i will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2001
This does turn out rather runny and I'd probably remove the seeds next time. But it works pretty well if you actually toss the salad in the dressing and coat the vegetables. Coincedentally, I found out that it's really tasty on potato chips as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
Runny but tasty, and a bit bland. Needs dill or cayenne or something sprightly. A little anchovy paste would make it Ceasaresque. Fresh savory would be good too. A lot of the runnyness is from *over* blending - stop at the somewhat chunky Gaspacho stage and resist the temptation to hit the liquify button, otherwise you have... By golly, you have liquid cucumbers! 'Sweat' the cucumbers - peel, slice in half _lengthwise_, core, and cut halves into 1" crescents. Toss with a little salt and let pieces sweat in a collandar for a minimum 1 hr. Shake off the sweat (do not rinse, it's not salty any more) and queeze out whatever more water you can. Blend this and it will not be runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
sorry, but i didn't like this dressing at all. it was runny, but that makes it easier to use a small amount. it was gritty and too strong in the pepper and garlic dept. i will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
This dressing indeed turns out runny as suggested by other reviewers, though the taste was good. I could not stop at the right stage when it is nearly at the gazpacho stage.Otherwise ok. Shall attempt again to stop at the right time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
I thought this recipe sounded great...very summery and light...but was very disappointed. I thought it was quite bland and couldn't quite figure out what it needed. But, to be fair, I did substitute regular pepper for white (didn't have any white on hand)and didn't measure all ingredients exactly. Still, I don't think that would have made a huge difference, as I did use all ingredients listed and used close to the amount recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATHOMELAUREL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
This dressing was okay, but lacked flavor. I tried adding various spices, but to no avail. Even after chilling overnight, the flavor did not intensify.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
I haven't made this particular recipe, but I make one remarkably similar so thought I might suggest draining the cukes on a paper towel, using 1/2c sour cream & 1/2c yogurt & the ingredient I believe you're missing is sugar (to taste). You'll be pleasantly surprised at the difference it'll make. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States