Creamy Cucumber Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This was awesome! I made changes like many of us are prone to do. I used a 28oz bag of frozen brussel sprouts. I sliced my cucumber thinner, and added garlic and oregano to the saute. I thickened the roux with cornstarch as I was out of flour. Then I added a decent amount of hot sauce (Texas Pete). I covered everything with foil when I baked it so the sprouts were nice and soggy. Only 4 of 7 guests would try it (the others being fearful of brussel sprouts) and they loved it. I was going to send the leftovers home, but there was nothing to send. I will never make brussel sprouts any other way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Cola, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
mmmmmmmmmmmmmm.. very delicious. the only things i did differently was cut the cucumber in smaller pieces than as directed, but thats a personal preference, and i didnt have any chicken bouillon so i used two packets of the chicken flavoring from ramen noodles packets. lol. oh and i also put some chicken in there, cuz i had extra from another recipe i was making and someone wrote on here it lacked a little flavor so i tried it cuz chicken never hurt anything.. i think it wouldve been perfectly good without the chicken. very flavorful and good. i dont have the problem of some other reviewers of brussels sprouts. i
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitneyriot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Yummy dish. I like very spicy food so to liven up the sauce I added cayenne pepper and cumin powder, it adds a nice flavor. I didn't have enough Brussels Sprouts so I added zucchini and it was just fine. This was my first time making a roux, if I make this again I'll let the roux brown a little bit longer. I feel there was still a bit of a "flour" after taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
Excellent! I'll admit I was hesitant to try it because I thought it would taste like salad dressing but it was so worth it. Creamy and mildly flavoured sauce and the cucumbers are delicious. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
I searched this recipe thinking I had brussel sprouts in the fridge and was dissapointed when I got home and discovered that I was mistaken. So I made it with broccoli instead. Very tasty, but I'm going to buy some sprouts for the next go. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
this dish is delicious! i added green onions, and replaced chix boullion with vegitable boullion for vegitarian dish. i served this with cous cous and pinenuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine Stylski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I was looking for a new and different way to do sprouts... This was ok, but probably not one we will be doing again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
The sauce in this recipe was REALLY good and my mom and husband loved the brussels sprouts. Not me, I tried them, but I don't think anything can make me like them and I'm NOT that picky an eater. We all thought the cooked cucumber was a little strange, though. But we did like the sauce a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Surprisingly, this was excellent! Since there are only two of us, I cut the recipe in half and the only change was to add some cayenne and garlic. Somehow I ended up with too much gravy, but made sure just enough was used to coat the vegetables instead of drown them. Very, very tasty and we'll have this again. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
This tasted like half a recipe to me. The creamy sauce was good but even with adding some roasted chicken breast it was still sort of boring. It tastes like pot pie filling minus all of the pot pie stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FieldGreens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States