Creamy Cucumber Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
Excellent! I'll admit I was hesitant to try it because I thought it would taste like salad dressing but it was so worth it. Creamy and mildly flavoured sauce and the cucumbers are delicious. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
Wonderful! I don't eat brussels sprouts myself, but my husband loved them. I did enjoy the cucumbers though. Simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
this dish is delicious! i added green onions, and replaced chix boullion with vegitable boullion for vegitarian dish. i served this with cous cous and pinenuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine Stylski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
delicious! the sauce tastes wonderful, I could almost just eat that with a spoon! the cucumbers add a special touch to the dish. very different but great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
This tasted like half a recipe to me. The creamy sauce was good but even with adding some roasted chicken breast it was still sort of boring. It tastes like pot pie filling minus all of the pot pie stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FieldGreens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
I searched this recipe thinking I had brussel sprouts in the fridge and was dissapointed when I got home and discovered that I was mistaken. So I made it with broccoli instead. Very tasty, but I'm going to buy some sprouts for the next go. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This was awesome! I made changes like many of us are prone to do. I used a 28oz bag of frozen brussel sprouts. I sliced my cucumber thinner, and added garlic and oregano to the saute. I thickened the roux with cornstarch as I was out of flour. Then I added a decent amount of hot sauce (Texas Pete). I covered everything with foil when I baked it so the sprouts were nice and soggy. Only 4 of 7 guests would try it (the others being fearful of brussel sprouts) and they loved it. I was going to send the leftovers home, but there was nothing to send. I will never make brussel sprouts any other way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Cola, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
The sauce in this recipe was REALLY good and my mom and husband loved the brussels sprouts. Not me, I tried them, but I don't think anything can make me like them and I'm NOT that picky an eater. We all thought the cooked cucumber was a little strange, though. But we did like the sauce a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I was looking for a new and different way to do sprouts... This was ok, but probably not one we will be doing again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Yummy dish. I like very spicy food so to liven up the sauce I added cayenne pepper and cumin powder, it adds a nice flavor. I didn't have enough Brussels Sprouts so I added zucchini and it was just fine. This was my first time making a roux, if I make this again I'll let the roux brown a little bit longer. I feel there was still a bit of a "flour" after taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States