Creamy Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Pretty good recipe. I actually used low fat cream cheese and homemade whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLAFOUNT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This icing is so light and wonderful! I used it on a red velvet cake and it was perfect. I used an entire package of low fat cream cheese and used lite whipped topping. I also refrigerated it for about an hour before I used it on my cake. It worked wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Super easy to make, and very tasty!! I recommend heating up the cream cheese before trying to mix it with the whipped cream. I might experiment with adding some other elements in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valleycook111

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagan, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
I loved it, it was super easy and added 1 tsp. I cut the sugar down to 1 cup though and thought it was a little too sugary even cut back, I think next time I'll try 3/4. If you have trouble with texture make sure you soften the cream cheese to room temp, I had no prob with blending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
WOW! This frosting came out great! I used about 5 oz of cream cheese (that's what I had on hand), just under 1 c. of regular sugar and beat the crud out of it for about 3 min, adding about 1 Tbsp of Hershey's syrup for color/flavor, then I gently folded in 1/2 container of Cool Whip (didn't need a lot of frosting). The texture is smooth, light and super creamy. I've got it in the fridge for a few minutes right now, before I frost the cake (Choc. Choc. Chip Dream Cake, from this site), but it came out with a perfectly ready-to-frost texture. It is not overly-sweet and I can't wait for the Birthday Boy (my hubby) to get home so we can eat this...maybe tonight is the night we have dessert before dinner...I will definitely use this recipe in the future because I can tell that it will be very versatile and not too sweet. Thanks everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
My family absolutely loved this frosting. I followed a few other reviews and used all 8oz of cream cheese and cut the sugar to 1 cup. It was not too sweet while still providing that great cream cheese flavor. I made it several hours before I needed to frost my cake and it set up beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
This was a good tasting frosting reminded me of marshmallow fluff but not as sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Photo by ernesta
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
i too had an unfirm frosting. because i have made numerous cream cheese frosting similar to this, my theory is that it depends on the cream cheese. sometimes (even if it's not expired) the cream cheese starts turning into separated curds and whey. i had this consistency today (it's philadelphia cc), and attempted to make a frosting. it was too wet, so i added 3 oz white chocolate dry pudding mix and splashes of milk... and mixed. the taste was delicious but i wanted back my tangy zing, so i added whip cream. result? the best of both worlds - a little bit of white chocolate, and a little bit of cream cheese. yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ernesta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This frosting was perfect!!! I used it on Sam's Famous Carrot Cake. It tastes just like Pulix's whipped frosting that they use on their cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
great taste but needs to be refridgerated.Very messy.does not firm up like other cream cheese toppings. Would be great as a filling for cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States