Creamy Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
can't believe out of 37 reviews, no one bothered to change or comment on the quantity of cream cheese called for. Not being that familiar with cream cheese, I think that "3" oz. meant "8" oz. Frosting was like soup after adding the cream. Tried to chill....didn't work!!! Ruined the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This is the best cream cheese frosting I've ever had. I was licking the beaters! It was sweet, yet stil tangy. However, I used all 8 oz of the cream cheese, only a cup of the sugar, and used most of a can of arisol whipped cream. Of course, the whipped cream would have tasted better if it was the real thing, but the arisol cream made the frosting nice and light. Great on carrot cake, but waffles + apple sauce + cream cheese frosting = match made in HEAVEN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phasahd

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This was a good base recipe, but I added my own twist to it. As others, I reduced the amount of sugar and increased the cream cheese. I used about 3/4 c powdered sugar, 8 oz cream cheese and 8 oz of whipped topping. I also took a about a cup of frozen strawberries I had on hand, thawed and pureed them and added them to the frosting. This made a TON of frosting and I was only making a small (8") chocolate cake, so I took about 3/4 c of the finished frosting mixture and added it to my cake batter. This made the cake so light and fluffy with the SLIGHTEST hint of strawberry. I topped the cake with some chocolate curls. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Recipe Queen
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
As others suggested, I used only 1 cup of powdered sugar & 8 oz of cream cheese with the 8 oz tub of cool whip. I thought this was strange at first & not sure how good it would be on my banana cake. I really like cream cheese & this didn't have a strong cream cheese flavor like I'm used too, but it was AWESOME! It got rave reviews from coworkers & we all decided this frosting with the cool whip really woked well for my banana cake! We thought you wouldn't want to eat the banana cake with carrot cake frosting! (We all associate carrot cake with really cream cheesy frosting). I LOVE cream cheese frosting & this really is good! Mine was not very pretty & I think I could have put it in my kitchen aide with the whisk attachment to get a prettier finished product for my cake, but tasted good! Will use this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipe Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Good, but doesn't harden like a traditional cream cheese topping. Probably won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I did not like this frosting at all! I used a whole 8 oz package of cream cheese, per some reviewers suggestions. The cream cheese stayed clumpy. It wasn't sweet and definitely didn't taste like cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This frosting was AMAZING! It's really light and fluffy. I was afraid it might be quit sweet, but it wasn't at all. This will be the frosting I make from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shmooge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I wanted white chocolate cream cheese frosting, so I added 4 oz melted white chocolate (cooled slightly) to the end result. I also used the entire block of cream cheese. I used this on red velvet cake. Thanks for the great recipe, I'll be using it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Super easy frosting that tastes great. Based on other reviews, I increased the cream cheese to 8 oz. Softened everything to room temperature and followed directions. Refrigerated over night since it was late and my cake still had to cool. The following morning I let it sit to warm for about 30 minutes and then spread over two-layer 9 inch cake. Great consistency and had no issues spreading. Will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Hillsdale, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
used 8 ounces of cream cheese, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iola, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States