Creamy Crab and Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
Excellent recipe! I added about half of the sauce to the shells, and it still seemed moist to me. If it's dry later (as many mentioned), I'll add some of the reserved sauce. If not, the sauce will go great with chicken nuggets or crabcakes. For my own flavor preference, I added garlic powder, a little celery seed and a small amount of dried dill in place of the fresh. Plain old honey and mustard works great if you don't have the honey mustard. I also added a chopped hard-cooked egg, celery and onion. I skipped the green onion and green pepper because I didn't have them on hand. I'm sure this will be great after it stands, for part of a light supper on a very hot day! Thanks for the recipe, dakota kelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
This is a very tasty salad! Of course I didn't have all the ingredients on hand, so had to substitute frozen peas and diced, fresh carrots, slightly cooked, for the peppers. But the dressing was very creamy. Those who found it dry the following day, should remember that most creamy dressings need additional ingredients after the pasta soaks up the initial dressing. I'll add some plain yogurt tomorrow. After reading some of the reviews, I decided to add three hard-boiled eggs, which made a good addition. I also used canned crab, rather than freshly cooked crab, and it seemed just fine. My husband and adult daughter loved this salad as much as I did. It's a great dish for a hot summer day! So I'll be sure to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spanishdona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roxbury Township, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Just made this- one batch made enough for two of us to eat on a bed of spring mix for two days! I did add one spring onion and it almost over powered it! This is a great nutritious low cost recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This was awesome. DOUBLE THE SAUCE ingredients, added 1/4c Parmesan, 1Tbsp Crystal's hot sauce, 1tsp garlic powder, and 8oz cream cheese! When cooking the pasta, add 1 bag frozen broccoli florets and 1 drained can of sweet corn. Add the pasta to the sauce you previously made in a bowl just after draining (don't rinse or cool) to let the cream cheese melt. BAM! Makes a HUGE stainless steel salad bowl full (we're talking industrial sized), so my husband and I will have plenty for leftovers! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
This is a keeper in our family of young kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Prospect, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
This had an ok taste, I doubled the sauce, and it was still dry. I probably wouldn't make it again, but it was worth the try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Okay. added lemon pepper. Doubled the sauce and it still seemed dry and sticky once it had chilled int he freezer. My husband added milk to his serving to make it less dry. I think that helped some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne Douglas (Roxy)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Quick and easy! I made half of everything as published and it was all just the right amount. Must rinse pasta in cold water before mixing it up to serve chilled! I love dill so I added more and also added peas! Going to add cheese, chopped up bacon and maybe some sauteed celery to the leftovers too, yummmy!! :-) Thank you for this simply yet truly creamy base, I'm going to try this recipe with chicken and tuna!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne Douglas (Roxy)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Love this recipe! I made some changes to it. I used red onion instead of green and left out the red pepper. I also added eggs and celery. It was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey Clawson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malta, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This salad was not very good. Very bland. It was edible, but not something that I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States