Creamy Corn With Cumin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Very tasty and easy. I found the straining to work okay with my "spider"-type utensil (its got a grid of about 1/4") - don't use fine mesh strainer! Soup still had a tad bit of texture, but most of the skin from the kernels was removed. It definitely doesn't make 8 servings! I'd cut the recipe in half and didn't need to, because I only ended up with 2 small servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Good soup. I cut back on the fat by replacing the half and half with 2% milk, added a couple of spoonfuls of non-fat plain Greek yogurt for creaminess as well as protein, and some diced potatoes for texture. The soup came out smooth, delicious and velvety. For those having trouble straining it, you have to puree it for awhile, at least 2 minutes, to get the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Not terrible, but not great. It was impossible to strain through my colander, so I ended up with the kernels in the soup. The flavor was a tad bland for me, needed something more. I feel like I wasted alot of corn for nothing. Husband like it okay, and said at least it was something new to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
My 5 yo declared "I didn't know soup could be so good!". This is a keeper. Thanks Chef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Easy, cheap, healthy!!!!! AWESOME. I also added carrots and potatoes! Thank you for the submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This was a very good soup. I loved the combination of the creamy corn with cumin! I made 4x the soup. I used cans - and 1/2 the cans were regular corn and 1/2 were creamed corn. Next time I will only use creamed corn, and then after I puree the whole thing, I will add one can of regular corn - just so that some whole kernels will stay intact and make it look nice. I did not use half and half. After I pureed the soup with my hand blender, I did not strain it - too much work. I am sure it would have a very nice texture that way though - but I didn't have time to do that. At first I did not like the corn skins that made the soup very course and not smooth, but then I got used ti it - I really like this soup now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
BEST MEXICAN CORN SOUP EVER! I used Chipotle Chile ground for the spice and upped it to about 1 tsp (or maybe more- we like it hot here in Santa Fe. I also upped the garlic. I also changed the 1/2 & 1/2 to Soy 1/2 & 1/2 which tasted great with a lot less fat content. I did not strain - it is fine with the little bit of roughage in the soup - gives it more body.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Great as a starter but it's not something you would enjoy if you had more than one serving. I would not make again but thanks for sharing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I omitted the onions (since my husband doesn't eat them). I used whole milk instead of half and half. This recipe turned out wonderfully. I blended it in a blender but did not strain it. I prefered the chunkier texture. Next time I will add more broth to make it a little thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States