Creamy Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
This is delicious. I pureed half of the corn to make it creamier. I recommend melting the cream cheese a little first so that it melts into the soup easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARL20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
Very good soup! I used a sweet onion, unsalted butter, 1% milk, and low-sodium broth. I added about a cup more broth than called for (and it made just enough for 3 adults and 2 kids as the main course of dinner). I also used Neufchatel cheese, and was afraid it wouldn't work, but it did. It was actually very thin until I added the cheese, and I was worried. At first, the cheese broke up into little chunks, but I wisked it really well and it worked fine. I don't use canned corn so I used 3 cups frozen (a mix of white and yellow). I used garlic powder and just a sprinkle of the garlic salt. Served with crackers and a nice green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Yummy soup! I made exactly as instructed, velvety smooth and filling. I can see adding some grilled chicken breast to it but it's good for me as is. I made this on a stormy night. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
THE BEST!!! I LOVE creamy soups and this one is the pinnacle of a great cream soup. I was a little wary about trying a cream soup on my own, but WOW! It does not get any simpler than this. Don't let the ingredients fool you, they combine to make one tasty dish. ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS*****!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
Such great flavour for such a simple soup! I loved it. I added 1/4 pound of imitation crab to this soup for a bit of a twist and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2000
such a nice soup! i threw in a celery stalk, and some left over chicken. i will make it again this winter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I really enjoyed this soup. Next time I will follow the advice of someone else and melt the cream cheese before adding it. It was difficult to get it fully incorporated. This soup has a lot of options. It would be great with crab, bacon, cheese, or just about anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Darby, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I enjoy that this recipe doesn't rely on canned soups or canned creamed corn, instead it uses a roux, milk and cream cheese for its creamy base. After making as directed (but using frozen corn for the canned), I found the soup still needed a pop of flavor... So taking the submitter's suggestion, I added some chopped jalapeno I had stashed in the freezer. A good basis for a creamy corn soup which could stand up to many other additions / flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2000
This soup is delicious! Very simple and easy to make. I substituted some ingredients for lower fat versions and it was still creamy and amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I thought this tasted okay. I was looking for a corn soup or chowder to use some corn I had just cut off some cobs. I did use no sodium broth and fresh corn instead of canned. I am glad I did because, with the added garlic salt, this would have been way too salty. I ended up using corn from 4 cobs for the 2 12oz cans. I subbed 1 Tblsp. of dry parsley for the parsley and it worked fine and just did a pinch or so of black pepper, as I don't really care for it. I tasted it and thought it was missing something and a little too thin. I ended up adding a Tblsp. more of flour, and whisking that in, and chopping up a couple of sprigs of green onion and adding that also. It much improved the taste and texture. I had no bacon like a lot of the other corn soups and chowders tend to use as garnish, etc. but we did sprinkle it with a cheese blend. It was filling tonight and quick for what I had in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States