Creamy Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
Great taste, almost exactly like my mom's Crema de Elote! I don't remember any onion chunks in my mom's though. Not a problem for the taste, but as we got to the bottom of the pan the chunks were unbearable to some in the fam... (also, if you didn't try this with ritz-type crackers, you must!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ciudad De México, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
This is probably my favorite soup that I now make. If you want it thicker than it turns out you HAVE to use an equal ratio of butter and flour! So use at LEAST 3 Tbsp of BUTTER to your flour. I also use fresh or frozen corn, never canned, unless that is all I have. If using canned, Definitely drain it! Also I always add in a good amount of cheddar cheese to my own bowl and I think that helps with the taste. Also if you can, go out of your way to use fresh parsley, it does help and you notice the flavor tremendously. But I love the soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
This soup is great! I screwed up a bit with the flour, and didn't have any garlic salt....but what the hey, this turned out really tasty. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
This soup was excellent. Creamy, thick and tastey. I added 1/2 cup of salsa for a bit more mexican taste, but it was still excellent before the salsa. The only thing omitted was the parsely because I am currently out of parsely ;p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
This was pretty good, but I thought there was way too much pepper! I will make again but I will reduce the amount of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
This was a very easy and quick corn soup. My whole family liked it. I pureed half of the soup to give it thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
THIS WAS GREAT SOUP I ADDES CUBED CHICKEN AND CELERY AND SOME CHICHEN SEASONING IT WAS VERY GOOD. TRY ADDING SOME CREAM CHEESE TO IT MAKE IT CREAMY.THANKS FOR THE GREAT RECIPE. IALSO ADDED 2 CANS OF CREAM CORN GREAT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly May

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
THE BEST!!! I LOVE creamy soups and this one is the pinnacle of a great cream soup. I was a little wary about trying a cream soup on my own, but WOW! It does not get any simpler than this. Don't let the ingredients fool you, they combine to make one tasty dish. ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS*****!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
Such great flavour for such a simple soup! I loved it. I added 1/4 pound of imitation crab to this soup for a bit of a twist and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2000
This soup is delicious! Very simple and easy to make. I substituted some ingredients for lower fat versions and it was still creamy and amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States