Creamy Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 9, 2008
I love corn soup so much. This was a wonderful recipe. I always add chopped up tomato, and whatever meat I feel like; whether ham pieces or chicken. Remember with soup you can add almost anything. My mom likes to put potato in it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy to Leilani

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Yummy soup! I made exactly as instructed, velvety smooth and filling. I can see adding some grilled chicken breast to it but it's good for me as is. I made this on a stormy night. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I agree with others, this is a great base recipe. I will make again, but it needs something....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Hubby absolutely love it! I followed the recipe pretty much, except I added an extra can of creamed corn and extra cayenne pepper since we like our dishes a little on the spicy side :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle McCormick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This was sooo good! I added some leftover shredded chicken breast and sauteed a large carrot and 1 stalk of celery with the onion in a little more margarine. I added the garlic when the veggies started to soften to avoid burning it. Otherwise kept everything the same. I'll be making this one all winter long. Served with crusty rolls. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I give it four stars for being a great base recipe, but thought my version was great, five stars! I started by sauting two very thinly sliced chicken breasts, removed and then proceeded with the recipe. I used 2% milk and two cans of Campbell's chicken broth I added the second one after I saw how it lacked the extra "soupy-ness" I like. It was more like a stew. I did have to thicken it a bit after this with a flour slurry. I also used frozen corn, added diced pimentos and the chicken back in. Next time I'd cut back on the corn. I was very surprised that you could taste the cream cheese, there isn't much in it. Served it with oyster crackers and cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I followed the recipe, until the end when I added a couple handfuls of pepper jack and sharp cheese. I was not impressed after testing a spoonful... Added more pepper. Came back to it after almost an hour and it was much better! Thick and flavorful, and slightly golden colored from the cheese. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Great base recipe! Instead of fresh parsley I used a tablespoon of italian seasoning. I also used 2% milk, whipped lite cream cheese, but then at the very end added about 4 oz of shredded jack and cheddar cheeses to thicken it up! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Very nice soup...I used whole milk and while you can tell it isn't cream if you put enough flavors in it isn't bad. I also used dried paresley instead of fresh (can't stand the taste of fresh unfortunately).Used frozen white corn instead of canned to cut down on sodium and added my own salt to the mixture. At the end added some cheddar (mild) and melted through because the milkiness alone was not enough flavor for me. I think tabasco, worchestershire, or Old Bay would be nice additions as well. Almost a 5 but not one of the best I've had. EXTREMELY EASY... and anything I don't want to puree is tops with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melpy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I really enjoyed this soup. Next time I will follow the advice of someone else and melt the cream cheese before adding it. It was difficult to get it fully incorporated. This soup has a lot of options. It would be great with crab, bacon, cheese, or just about anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Darby, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States