Creamy Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This was the second of two soups that I made for a holiday luncheon. I used frozen corn that we cut off the cobs and froze last summer. I made approximately 1 1/2 times the recipe and didn't measure either the chicken broth or the milk (which I used half and half for). I used 4 ounces of cream cheese (half an 8 ounce block). I also added a healthy dose of dried chives and half a jalapeno diced small. This soup was a hit and will be made again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Photo by Brooke Laurel
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Wow! I steamed a couple of large crab claws & added them (broken up) at the end, rather than the chicken suggested in the recipe header. I also prefer a smoother texture, I blended most of the soup as other reviewers suggested (before adding the crab). So creamy & filling, with loads of flavour. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Laurel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Good recipe! I used Granulated Garlic, dried Chopped Onions and an additional Tbs of butter. I used frozen corn and added extra to make the consistency I wanted. Used 4 oz of cream cheese, and used Crushed Red Pepper flakes instead of the powdered cayenne pepper. As directed by the recipe, spices were added to taste so the flavor wasn't bland at all. Great soup, easy to make. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This is definitely a keeper ... with a couple changes to my taste! I added a little chili paste to pep it up some ... and I used frozen corn since I really don't care for the taste of canned corn. I also pureed the soup and then added an additional cup of corn so that it would have whole kernels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHINYHAPPYRAYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bedburg, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Very simple to make...I used water in place of chicken broth to reduce the salt content and it still turned out amazing. I also pre-boiled the 2.5 cups of milk which allowed it to have a more creamy consistency...last tip, I boiled it all together, and then took all but .5 cup of it and blended it up... oh by the way, I didn't put any cream cheese and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This was good, but it needed more thickening. I also didn't care for the garlic in this. I do like the idea of the green chili pepper though. I think that it would have given it a little zip that it needed. Perhaps even some shredded cheese would have been good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by needlewings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I made this as directed, with one exception...I used an immersion blender to purée it at the end. Served with a selection of "toppings" to choose from....cheddar cheese, green chiles, crumbled bacon, hot sauce...it was really good with these additions. It's an excellent base but a bit blah when eaten plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MollyBrook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Good recipe but it lacks a VERY important ingredient. SOY SAUCE! when my family tasted it without the soy sauce they all gave me death looks!! After I suggested adding soy sauce, everyone was fighting over the very last drop. Great recipe but you HAVE to add some soy sauce at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I was pleasantly surprised with this soup. I wasn't too sure about the cream cheese, having never put cream cheese in a soup before, but in the end, it turned out fabulous! My husband even wanted seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Wonderful recipe! My kids loved it. I added a little more onion and gralic as well as toasted bacon bits to sprikle in the middle and add some crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States