Creamy Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
skipped the potatoes, and still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This hit the spot on a cold, rainy evening! I had to modify the recipe a bit, because I didn't have enough green pepper. I used about 1/4 cup green pepper and added a very small jar of diced red pimento. I only used 1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes......can't imagine how hot it would be with a full tablespoon. Next time, I think I will skip the boiling the potatoes in water and just throw everything in with the veggie broth from the start to cook together. Very simple recipe. Low that it was low-fat and had the protein of the tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
You should have seen my husband's face when I slid the tofu into our shopping cart... In spite of the rocky start, we both loved this soup. The only modification that I made was to reserve more of the chunks than the recipe suggests because we like our chowder chunky. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Easy, quick, simple! It's not super fancy, but a quick way to make some chowder and use tofu. One tip, it doesn't say to drain the veggies at any point, so just take note of how much you end up pouring in the blender to puree. You don't want too much liquid. I made a half batch because I only had one (big) red potato on hand. Did not peel the potato. Used frozen corn (12 oz) instead of canned corn. Added 2 T of butter into the boiling mixture as well. Sprinkled some dried chives in it too from my garden. As a non-vegetarian, it would be better with bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I made this with only 1 can of vegetable broth because I like a thick chowder. Also I used one can of creamed corn, one whole kernel corn. After cooking we drizzled in a little maple syrup - sounds weird but it tasted great! Gave it a little sweetness, which was nice. I served this to people who would not have eaten it had they known there was tofu in it, they all LOVED IT. This soup was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centereach, New York, USA
Living In: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I am currently on a strict vegan diet and this recipe calmed my cravings on this very rainy day for a warm, creamy comfort food! The silken tofu did an amazing job of thickening the soup and giving it that creamy texture I thought I could only get from adding half 'n half. I made quick work of the recipe by using "microwave in the bag" red potatoes. I also made the following changes: I added 1/2 cup of chopped red bell pepper and sauteed the onion, bell peppers & pepper flakes (about 1/2 - 1 tsp) in some olive oil until soft. I then added the corn and the cooked potatoes (unpeeled), which I'd coarsely chopped. I then added 1.5 cups of vegetable broth. I removed a little over half of the soup and processed it in the blender with a 16 oz package of silken tofu. After pouring the blended soup back into the pot I removed some soup to test some seasonings. I added a bit of thyme and rosemary but didn't care for the result at all. It clashed with the sweetness of the corn and heat of the red pepper flakes. So I simply added salt to taste and topped with cheddar flavored Veggie Shreds (soy cheese). I think cilantro might be a really good addition to this soup. I'll try that next time. This was a beautiful soup, too, with the addition of the red bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RivertownMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Fantastic recipe. I made similar changes to others who didn't peel the potatoes (mine were organic) and sauteed the onions ahead of time. My corn and bell pepper strips were frozen, but the soup still turned out amazingly. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Delicious! This soup reminds me of something you'd see on the menu board at Panera. I just made it and now I want to find a recipe to make rolls. A fresh, warm roll (or two) would be fabulous dunked in this soup! One thing to note is that the red pepper flakes are quite potent (at least to me they are) so you might want to use sparingly unless you lke a spicier soup. p.s. I also think that fresh baked tater tots would be de-lish tossed into this soup. Mmmmm...now I'm wishing I had some on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jesses_girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Decent - but not a ton of flavor. The tofu makes it very creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
oh my goodness!! loved this recipe! i have made it a few times, and modify it each time. the red bell pepper is super, but any other veggies on hand work! i have also added sausage. fresh herbs are always a nice addition to soups! very creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by serena shultz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fortuna, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States