Creamy Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Not bad, but not especially striking either. I ended up with far too much of the wet ingredient mix, so the slaw was a bit too soggy for my taste. To some extent that's a personal preference, but I just mention that so others can adjust ingredients according to their preference. I did add a little sugar, which other reviewers recommended. That was a good decision. 1/2 teaspoon or so is enough. Refrigeration does improve the flavor, which isn't up to par still warm. Some won't like it because of the raisins, but the raisins are a small part of the overall flavor; they enhance, not dominate. There are many other slaw recipes on this website that I like better, but this one is okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
My class made this for 30 people. It was easy and delicious. (secret ingredient: 1/4 cup relish -- helped make it sweeter, and added a bit of color!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenfield Park, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
I don't know what happened, but neither my husband or I liked this at all. Very dissapointing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
I found this to be a GREAT Coleslaw Recipe. I made minor modifications to the recipe based on previous comments. I added a bit of sugar, omitted the red pepper, replaced the red onion with a sweet vadalia onion and added about 1/2 cup finely chopped walnuts. I brought this to a lunch gathering and have several requests for the recipe. I will definitely be making this again!! We were very delighted with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
I just wanted something easy using what I had on hand. I left out the raisins and the onion. Added some sugar too. Tastes great and is quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
I made my regular coleslaw recipe and made this one also for my cookout because people have such different taste, was not well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
Very good coleslaw recipe. Love the raisins and mustard. Made this coleslaw twice now / before without reading reviews and found the onion overpowering. Like other reviewers, suggest that you omit or reduce onions, add a bit of sugar and more raisins if cabbage is bitter. Also, I added more cabbage because there was a lot of dressing. It pays to read reviews. Thanks for sharing a great coleslaw recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
I read that some people thought the onion was too strong so I tried a sweet vidalia type onion instead and we loved it. The raisins are great in this. I am so glad that I found this recipe. It gives us a nice alternative to the standard coleslaw recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
Good recipe but I thought it tasted almost like pepper cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEANIE4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
Very easy to make and quite tasty....considering I don't like cabbage! The raisins made all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Apple Coleslaw

See how to make a sweet twist on classic coleslaw.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States