Creamy Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Good recipe. You can really alter it to your taste. I didn't add the raisin because my kids wouldn't let me. LOL. I also did not have any carrots. I used a green pepper instead of a red b/c that is all I had. I also added a pinch of sugar in place of the raisins. After it was all said and done it was good but not great. I added about 1tblspn of horseradish to it. I like it with a little bite. That brought the cole slaw to life. I also used lite mayo and low fat sour cream. Those are staples in our home. Thanks for sharing. I will make this again but with the horseradish and I won't forget the carrots next time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I had to make some modifications and this was still great. I did not use red pepper and I subbed fat free plain yogurt for the sour cream and red wine vinegar for the white wine and it was totally yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Excellent - I have been looking for a good coleslaw recipe and I think I've found it! I didn't use the raisans-my family doesn't care for them. So I put a little sugar in the dressing and added some fresh ground pepper. I sprinkled some raisans on my serving and it was great. I will be using this one from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Smith Wuscher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trout Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Great Slaw! But of course being the master of tinkering with recipes I added one clove of fresh garlic and grated some fresh parmigiano Reggiano in it. Makes it really good!!! On a second note I also didn't use mayo I used plain yougart. Much Healthier and there isn't much diffrence in taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
I thought this was quick and easy, but not the best I've ever had. I omitted the red onion and raisins (just thought they sounded weird), and used fat-free sour cream and light mayonnaise. I used 4 1/2 cups cabbage, which was more than called for, but I think next time I will add even more - when the dressing sits over night, a little goes a long way! I thought the red bell pepper was a nice addition, and an extra veggie to boot. I wish I had read the reviews first, as I, too, will add some sugar next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
I personally thought the amount of mayo and sour cream was rather excessive - I ended up adding more cabbage til it was how I wanted. Although Husband really liked the raisins in it, I preferred them without, and I wish I had added some diced onion too. This was good but it definitely needed a bit of tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I used the prebagged slaw and just made the dressing part. I subbed out a couple packages of nutrasweet for the raisens, and a little onion powder, and some applecider vinegar, dash of celery powder, tasted great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
I didn't care for the red onion or bell pepper in this recipe. It was ok, but not my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHMARGI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
I used a mixture of both green & purple cabbage and added some finely chopped apple instead of the raisins. It was a very nice coleslaw although I couldn't really taste the mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Very good recipe! I did not have a lot of time to make this recipe, so I used store bought coleslaw and just made the dressing. It was a hit. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Apple Coleslaw

See how to make a sweet twist on classic coleslaw.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States