Creamy Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Really like this one. It's really rich. I froze half and we had it a few weeks after the first half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Moist, delicious, and it really does get better after being in fridge overnight. Even great on the 3rd day. I made many, many small holes atop with a large serving fork. Pour the coconut liquid atop slowly and carefully, trying hard not to let it run over the edges. It needs no whipped cream atop! Instead I made a very light glaze (powdered sugar, tiny bit of milk, and few drops of coconut flavoring,) and put a very thin covering of this on top, after the 12 hr refrigeration. Then divided the 9x13 cake in half and topped each half, while glaze was still damp, with coconut: used toasted sweet coconut on 1/2 and used regular sweetened white coconut on the other. I served it in narrow slices, two of one topping and one of the other, lined up together on a dessert plate, kind of like a slice of Napolitano ice-cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Like so many other reviewers, I omitted the sweetened condensed milk, used a golden butter cake mix and added 1 tsp. coconut extract to the batter. This was great, will definitely be going on my "keeper" list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This cake was awesome. I also left out the sweetened condensed milk because I used cream of coconut (reduced fat) as some reviewers mentioned and used a yellow cake mix. I thought I would be in trouble since my cake mix had pudding in it and some reviewers said not to use the kind with pudding, but it turned out delicious. I used the whipped cream cheese frosting recipe and used both regular and toasted coconut on top. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I have made this cake several times. Everyone loves it! I like is best with freshly made (lightly sweetened) whipped cream. I do think the cake is best made the night before to allow the coconut cream to soak in. Take it out of the refrigerator a little while before you want to eat it to take the chill off, then add the whipped cream and coconut flakes right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Made this for my grandma's birthday today. She absolutely loved it, and she's a coconut cake expert! Was also the best one I've ever had! I followed the recipe exactly,and it was super easy. Baked in a 9x13 inch glass pan. When looking for the cream of coconut at Walmart, I found it in the alcohol section near the drink mixes (like for a pina colada).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I also leave out the sweetened condensed milk as I am lactose-intolerant. No one can tell the difference. My mom is the cook in the family, but she requested I make this for Easter. PS: Coco Real is easier to use than the canned cream of coconut. And a nut pick is as good as a straw for poking the holes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
My husband and I LOVE this recipe! He doesn't have a sweet tooth but when he took a bite he said it was the best cake he's ever eaten and that it was a keeper! I couldn't find cream of coconut so I just mixed the sweetened condensed milk with coconut milk and used that. It turned out great!! And the sweetness was perfect! I think if I added the cream of coconut, it would've been way too sweet. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pago Pago, Eastern, American Samoa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
You can NOT go wrong with this cake! It's SUPER easy and delicious every time! A real crowd pleaser!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Super yummy and moist! A huge favorite at my house and for family gatherings! I do agree though that if you use Cream of coconut, leave out the condensed milk. If you use coconut cream, then you need to add the condensed milk for sweetness. I don't use Cool Whip, can't really stand the taste or texture. I either make real whipped cream to put on top or I make a fluffy white frosting. Either way, it gets smothered in coconut! YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States