Creamy Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
It was delicious but a little runnier then I'd like. It has to either sit in fridge overnight or try using just the cream of coconut and omit the sweetened condensed milk. But it was absolutely what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
When I first looked at this recipe i thought "oh this should be good" and when I I made it it was incredible! I didn't have the cream of coconut on hand so I just used coconut milk instead. It turned out really good! My whole family really enjoyed it and said I should make this all the time! Thank you so much Julia! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
Super yummy! My mom had been making a banana cake for years that everyone loved and thought could never be topped. This cake dethroned it as #1. I was afraid to make it into a layer cake, as I didn't know if it would hold together, but I think it would be ok, so next time I will layer it. Thanks for sharing this recipe! Update: I layered it and it fell apart. Boo. Still an awesome cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
M I made this for a friend's birthday. Didn't have cream of coconut so I substituted it with a can of coconut milk. The syrup was delicious and only used half of it for a 9x13 sheet of yellow cake. For the frosting I combined vanilla pudding with the whipped frosting and topped it with toasted coconut flakes. Let the cake sit I the fridge overnight. It was so good that my husband (who doesn't like deserts) asked me to make it every week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Is my first time baking this kind of cake and it was perfect! I brought it to work and they loved it, some people even asked me for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
I love this creamy coconut cake! It taste sort of like a coconut pudding:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Really like this one. It's really rich. I froze half and we had it a few weeks after the first half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick Hunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Moist, delicious, and it really does get better after being in fridge overnight. Even great on the 3rd day. I made many, many small holes atop with a large serving fork. Pour the coconut liquid atop slowly and carefully, trying hard not to let it run over the edges. It needs no whipped cream atop! Instead I made a very light glaze (powdered sugar, tiny bit of milk, and few drops of coconut flavoring,) and put a very thin covering of this on top, after the 12 hr refrigeration. Then divided the 9x13 cake in half and topped each half, while glaze was still damp, with coconut: used toasted sweet coconut on 1/2 and used regular sweetened white coconut on the other. I served it in narrow slices, two of one topping and one of the other, lined up together on a dessert plate, kind of like a slice of Napolitano ice-cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Like so many other reviewers, I omitted the sweetened condensed milk, used a golden butter cake mix and added 1 tsp. coconut extract to the batter. This was great, will definitely be going on my "keeper" list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This cake was awesome. I also left out the sweetened condensed milk because I used cream of coconut (reduced fat) as some reviewers mentioned and used a yellow cake mix. I thought I would be in trouble since my cake mix had pudding in it and some reviewers said not to use the kind with pudding, but it turned out delicious. I used the whipped cream cheese frosting recipe and used both regular and toasted coconut on top. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States