Creamy Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This cake is amazing. I took it to a dinner party and everyone went up for seconds and even thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I had the worst craving for coconut cake and found this recipe. My kids can't have any artificial flavors, colors or preservatives so this took some modification. I used a family recipe for the white cake and baked that. I skipped the sweetened condensed at the advice of many reviewers. I used a condensed coconut cream and added a bit of heavy cream to it and poured that over the punctured cakes. I also cut each of the 2 cakes onto 2 to end up with a 4 layer cake. Make a cream cheese, whipped cream frosting and put that in between each layer. The top and sides I frosted and put the flaked coconut as well as toased crushed pecans all around. My kids are pretty picky but were in love with this. Husband isnt a huge coconut fan but even he had to admit it was stellar. It did hold better and have a better texture after being chilled overnight so I would recommend making it a day early. Definately a favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Very very good. I did as a few others I used a yellow cake mix and omitted the sweetened cond. milk. Also made my own whipped cream using a pint of heavy cream 1. cup sugar and 1 teaspoon vanilla. SOOOO Good! I had to make two My first one was for work and then the 2nd was for the family. Very easy to make Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PurrfectJen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This was the best cake. ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Just made this for a family cookout,was a little hesitant to take it,thinking it might be soggy,but much to my surprise it was very moist,and very tasty,and a perfect texture.It was a big hit.Will make it again.I made mine in a 13x9 glass baking dish.This is a very rich cake and you only need a small piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lumberton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I use a french vanilla cake and add a few drops of coconut flavoring. Also, I do not use the condensed milk. I usually use food coloring in the coconut - just for some fun - and today I added some fresh blueberries to the top. My dad says this is the moistest, most delicious coconut cake he's ever had. Making it again today for Father's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akppsu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
This was amazing. Made for my mother's birthday. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennaOpal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
we love this recipe. It is simple, but, oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
soooooo gooooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This is a delicious cake, but I don't think it was as fantastic as other reviewers found it. Cool, moist and flavorful. We enjoyed it, and I will make it again but there are other cake recipes I like better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'gal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States