Creamy Cinnamon Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I have made this receipe several times now and it is the best! For those who said their pudding didn't thicken, a couple of suggestions. First of all you must use whole milk and heavy cream. Second use a short grain rice (the shorter grain rices make more starcch to thicken the pudding). I chose to add 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla and sprinkled the cinnamon on the top of the pudding after it was cooked. It seemed a little strong to me when adding a tbsp of cinnamon to the mix. All in all, every time I have served this pudding it gets absolute rave reviews. Thank you Tiny Chef!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Camas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Use Arborio rice, it is a creamier rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
Just made this for my dad today for Father's Day. I was going up against my grandma's tried and true rice pudding from when he was a little boy and this one beat it by FAR!!! So rich & creamy! *MY CHANGES* I halved the recipe, used whole milk, only 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon, a dash of nutmeg, 1/2 tsp vanilla, 3 TBL butter, and three eggs. Definately use heavy cream and don't try to skimp with the fat because it really adds to the dish a world of taste :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
Fantastic...my husband and i have tried many many rice pudding recipes, all have been dismal failures. Then along came this one. WOW it turned out better than i could have hoped. I did decrease the cinnamon to 1 1/2 tsp and the servings to 6 but otherwise I followed the directions exactly and it was delicious. I do not recommend using skim or 1% milk and you cannot skimp on the heavy cream. I used whipping cream 35%..... this recipe is worth every minute it takes to prepare and the calories. Bravo!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
This recipe is definitely a keeper. I didn't add the cinnamon to the recipe.instead I added approximately one tsp of vanilla near the end of cooking time. I like to add my cinnamon just before eating. This is one of the best rice puddings that I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KENSBRO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This was by far the BEST rice pudding recipe yet! I have tried a few and this is it. I followed the recipe exactly and it was great. For those who said it didnt thicken maybe you didnt use whole milk? Dont use low fat or skim. This is great, Thanks Tinychef!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
This is the most delicious pudding I have ever had. To those who rated it negatively, you must have done something wrong. This recipe which I followed exactly turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
To die for ! Years ago I had a rice pudding like this that had lemon flavor instead of cinnamon, I think I'll try it that way too. You will love this ! Don't try to reduce the calorie/fat content. It won't taste good. Besides you deserve a treat now and then
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Thank you Tinychef. It was perfect. I let the first mixture boil for a few minutes, before dropping the heat. I also added another tbsp of margarine.It was fantastic. The Heavy Cream is the ticket. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
This is by far the best and creamiest rice pudding recipe I have tried. Just like my mother's and grandma's this is creamy, rich and melt in the mouth. I always double the rice and add extra cinnamon, nutmeg, a dash of vanilla and raisins since that's what I like in the pudding... but even without all that this is the BEST and easiest I've found on the internet. THanks TinyChef, esp. for the egg trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States