Creamy Cinnamon Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I have made this receipe several times now and it is the best! For those who said their pudding didn't thicken, a couple of suggestions. First of all you must use whole milk and heavy cream. Second use a short grain rice (the shorter grain rices make more starcch to thicken the pudding). I chose to add 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla and sprinkled the cinnamon on the top of the pudding after it was cooked. It seemed a little strong to me when adding a tbsp of cinnamon to the mix. All in all, every time I have served this pudding it gets absolute rave reviews. Thank you Tiny Chef!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Camas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
Help me!! I followed the recipe exactly and in came out very liquidy. It was in the fridge for over 5 hours. Did I ruin it by using margarine instead of butter, minute rice instead of grain, or was I suppose to cover it in the fridge? It taste great I was just looking for a more custard texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
this recipe was fantastic it tasted great! I added vanilla extract, this recipe was slightly runny I guess I am so used to more solid pudding...did I do something wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
This is the most delicious pudding I have ever had. To those who rated it negatively, you must have done something wrong. This recipe which I followed exactly turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Bonnar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Wow! My hubby won't stop eating this rice pudding (he's even taking it to work to let his friends know his wife make homemade rice pudding!). I followed the recipe exactly (except for the cinnamon because hubby's not a fan) and it turned out just as described; rich and creamy. According to Rice Gourmet website, type of rice makes a big difference with rice puddings so I used a medium grain instead of the typical long grain I usually have in the house. This recipe is a definite keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
After following this recipe as written, I wound up with hard rice on the bottom & the liquid on the top....even with stirring. Turned temperature to high, then added some milk after a while & cooked it much longer to cook the rice through. Wound up with pasty texture & rice still hard in spots. Would really rate this zero stars & would not recommend it or make it again. Also learned a valuable lesson when using recipes on here.....read the reviews FIRST! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This was by far the BEST rice pudding recipe yet! I have tried a few and this is it. I followed the recipe exactly and it was great. For those who said it didnt thicken maybe you didnt use whole milk? Dont use low fat or skim. This is great, Thanks Tinychef!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This was very good. It states to simmer until thickened, but mine didn't at all. I went ahead and poured it into the serving bowl and let it sit out for about 20 minutes and it was during this time that it started thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dina Popescu Hilliard
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly and the rice pudding turned out INCREDIBLE! I had guests that skipped Christmas dinner and ate the rice pudding instead! Will definately make again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dina Popescu Hilliard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
If I made this again, I would probably reduce the cooking time. Mine came out mushy and a bit gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States