Creamy Chorizo and Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I used pre-cooked shredded chicken that I had in the freezer, (I'm working my way through using what's in the deep freeze), used organic chicken broth, used 6 more cloves of garlic, one really big yellow onion, added two very large chopped zucchini and used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. I did add the cheese to the soup and then tried it and felt it didn't need the cream. After taste testing it, I did add cumin, california chili powder and fresh cilantro. Excellent soup.....great for the low-carber. Even my husband, the soup hater, said that it was really good. I know I made a couple changes here and there but it was to clean out my deep freeze and to use up some of my excess zucchini/veggies. Makes a lot, so if you don't eat soup twice a day......make sure you have enough freezer containers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
As Fat~dog~Lane suggested I added shrimp.. I had 1 boneless skinless breast that needed cooking also.... so I put it in also... I used a can of "rotel" for my tomatoes... I did add some onion as FDL suggested also.. Bout 1 1/2# of shrimp, which I put in in the last 10 mins... Oh yeah, I added a can of black soybeans... Homemade chicken broth also... Very tastey... very low carb.... I also think this would taste good thickend a bit and served over rice.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I try 2 - 3 recipes a week from allrecipes.com but this one, oh my...I just couldn't keep my thoughts to myself about this one. I was skeptical that the melding of the flavors would be good, but they were beyond good. This is one of the most exceptionally good recipes I have ever tried. My mouth waters just thinking about it. It is on the spicy side, so it's not for the faint of heart. Superb, stupendous and totally delicious! My husband immediately put it in his top 5 of all time. The ONLY thing I would change is not to add the garlic salt but rather just some more fresh garlic. It was a bit too salty for me. And, as the original author of the recipe said, I did cut the chicken into smaller pieces. Thank you for sharing your recipe. I will be making it very often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by livingdahl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Redmond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
It is great soup! great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Very easy recipe to follow. The chorizo gives this soup so much flavor. We love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I tried this tonight and it was very good. I usually make a recipe as is the first time but I did make a few adjustments. Instead of garlic salt I used garlic powder and omitted the salt all together. I also used low sodium broth. The Worcestershire sauce and sausage are plenty salty for my taste. I didn't have any heavy cream so I used a cup of 2% milk with a couple tablespoons of corn starch as a substitute. I added a package of gnocchi at the very end and also wilted in a bag of baby spinach for a complete all in one pot meal. Excellent flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Delicious! My husband coulded stop faving about this dish. He said, " This was the best new thing, I have made in awhile!" I will definitely make it again. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Very good. I used a can of Rotel tomatoes with sliced green chilies, mushrooms, celery and a Mexican chorizo. I also added parsley and the additional to the topping was green scallions. I sauteed the veggies first, then added the chorizo, then the chicken, then the other ingredients. One pot was used = less mess to clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CFUCHSLAO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hato Rey, San Juan, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Delicious blend of spice, a touch of grease from the chorizo, hints of the chicken/worcestershire.....really great. i used 10oz mexican diced tomatoes can on accident. just boiled and mashed them and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I made this last night and it was FABULOUS! Like other reviewers I did tweak it to make it my own: 2 potatoes cut into cubes, 1 small bag of frozen corn, 1 can green chiles and 2 packets of chicken bouillon b/c I didn't have any broth and 1 T of dried, chopped onions b/c I didn't feel like chopping an onion! :) I am not kidding, this one was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States