Creamy Chorizo and Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Tastes like chili without the beans, somewhat spicy and greasy and seems to be missing something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I tried this tonight and it was very good. I usually make a recipe as is the first time but I did make a few adjustments. Instead of garlic salt I used garlic powder and omitted the salt all together. I also used low sodium broth. The Worcestershire sauce and sausage are plenty salty for my taste. I didn't have any heavy cream so I used a cup of 2% milk with a couple tablespoons of corn starch as a substitute. I added a package of gnocchi at the very end and also wilted in a bag of baby spinach for a complete all in one pot meal. Excellent flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I used pre-cooked shredded chicken that I had in the freezer, (I'm working my way through using what's in the deep freeze), used organic chicken broth, used 6 more cloves of garlic, one really big yellow onion, added two very large chopped zucchini and used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. I did add the cheese to the soup and then tried it and felt it didn't need the cream. After taste testing it, I did add cumin, california chili powder and fresh cilantro. Excellent soup.....great for the low-carber. Even my husband, the soup hater, said that it was really good. I know I made a couple changes here and there but it was to clean out my deep freeze and to use up some of my excess zucchini/veggies. Makes a lot, so if you don't eat soup twice a day......make sure you have enough freezer containers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Very easy recipe to follow. The chorizo gives this soup so much flavor. We love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
It is great soup! great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I try 2 - 3 recipes a week from allrecipes.com but this one, oh my...I just couldn't keep my thoughts to myself about this one. I was skeptical that the melding of the flavors would be good, but they were beyond good. This is one of the most exceptionally good recipes I have ever tried. My mouth waters just thinking about it. It is on the spicy side, so it's not for the faint of heart. Superb, stupendous and totally delicious! My husband immediately put it in his top 5 of all time. The ONLY thing I would change is not to add the garlic salt but rather just some more fresh garlic. It was a bit too salty for me. And, as the original author of the recipe said, I did cut the chicken into smaller pieces. Thank you for sharing your recipe. I will be making it very often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by livingdahl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Redmond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
As Fat~dog~Lane suggested I added shrimp.. I had 1 boneless skinless breast that needed cooking also.... so I put it in also... I used a can of "rotel" for my tomatoes... I did add some onion as FDL suggested also.. Bout 1 1/2# of shrimp, which I put in in the last 10 mins... Oh yeah, I added a can of black soybeans... Homemade chicken broth also... Very tastey... very low carb.... I also think this would taste good thickend a bit and served over rice.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I did this in a slow cooker and added celery and potatoes and it turned out very good. I topped it with hot peppers, cilantro, cheddar cheese, sliced black olives, and green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Don't look at the nutritional info or you might miss out on a really yummy soup. It's like a spicy mexican chowder to me. I didn't even have chorizo (store was out of it) so I used a spicy cajun sausage, and it was still good. I also think it would be really great with some shrimp. It was already pretty spicy, so I used some cheddar instead of monterey jack cheese for a garnish, but honestly it didn't need anything. It was good just the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Adkins Byerly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lumberton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Seems like the chicken chunks are way too big. Really 2" cubes? I cut to 1 to 1-1/2" and thought it was still too big. Next time I will make 3/4" or so. On the flavor side, 3 out of 4 in my family liked it. It has a lot of flavor for a low-carb offering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States