Creamy Chocolate Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2006
So rich it will take a few days to finish one serving. The creamy, rich flavor is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
Very easy to make and creamy. I put in half almond extract and half vanilla. My husband and I ended up eating it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Because I didn't have all the ingredients on hand, I made the following changes: Warmed the milk, sugar, and salt in a pot over low heat. I used a 1oz. unsweetened baking chocolate square, which I added to the milk. Wisked until chocolate was completely melted. I used 1/8 c. plus 1/2 Tbsp. of arrowroot, which I mixed into 1/2 c. of water. I wisked the arrowroot mixture into the hot chocolate mixture; kept wisking til thickened. Added the butter and vanilla last. Pudding came out silky smooth and delicious. Husband and kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBONY3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Road Town, Tortola, British Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Quick to make and easy too.Make when everything else is planned.Needs close watching and frequent stirring.use a wisk to prevent lumps.Cook on lowest temperture or use a double boiler to prevent scortching.I used sugar replacement and low fat cool whip.Healthier version
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sackville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Lower Sackville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
I could not believe how easy this recipe was. It was incredibly delicious also! A new favorite dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I changed this recipe too much to give it a fair rating - I used 3 cups skim milk in place of evap. and water, but then needed another teaspoon or so of cornstarch to thicken. But, I did whisk the dry ingredients with the milk first and it was lump free. But, from placed in the pan time to thicken was at least 15 minutes. Could have been the skim milk. I'll try this again with heavy cream, but it definitely needs more chocolate - maybe some high-end semi-sweet chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomMakesItBetter

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
I thought it was awfully cornstarchy. I had to add extra sugar and some skim milk to make it better, and even then I didn't really like it. I prefer Jello brand, even the instant 5-minute kind, over this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
This is too thick, and doesn't have the depth of chocolatiness I was looking for. While it is as easy as box pudding, the seasoned palate will find the texture and taste less than desired. Perhaps the recipe could be adjusted to lessen the cornstarch, and increase the depth of chocolate...I probably won't use this recipe again as there are so many classic recipes out there, but I will say that this was VERY quick! If you like to experiment, this is a good place to start from. If all you've ever used previously is boxed mix, this may be an improvement. If the flavor issues were resolved, then this would make a good pie, as it would stay in form and not run all over the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
I made this last night, and my boyfriend and I each had a serving while it was semi-warm. I poured the pudding into individual plastic cups with lids and put them in the fridge, and we ate the rest of it with lunch today! This recipe is very simple to make, and very rich because of the evaporated milk. Next time, I will experiment and make it using regular whole milk for comparison. Definitely better than boxed instant pudding and boxed cook-and-serve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dnguy55

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
the taste was just too strong.it was too starchy n not light at all.the evaporated milk taste was kinda strong.maybe substituting with normal milk will help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States