Creamy Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
This is really great. My family loved it. I used 2% milk because I can't bear to open a can of evaporated milk and waste what's left, it was still great and the liquid to sugar ratio made a perfect spreading consistency. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1379 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
I have never tried to make a chocolate frosting before, and thought this was simple and absolutely delicious for my first go at chocolate frosting. It was much MUCH better than pre-made frostings. I read one review that this frosting was not chocolate'y enough, and if anything I found it to be more than enough of a chocolate'y taste. I took the advice of others that said that this did not make very much frosting, and doubled the recipe, which made enough to generously frost a 9" X 13" pan of walnut brownies. YUM!! I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
650 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYTHMANIAC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Maine, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
A buttercream frosting babe at heart, I used this as a sub for birthday cupcakes that had to travel by car for ahwile and they were met with rave reviews by both adults and kids alike. Easy to make, not too sweet, and Iwas able to use a pastry bag to pipe it on the cupcakes without too much mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
563 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Great frosting! It's definitely creamy and most certainly chocolately! I replaced half the butter with butter flavored shortening, added a pinch of salt, and used 3 Tbsp. of half and half instead of evaporated milk. I used an electric mixer to get it nice and fluffy. It was perfect to pipe on a half dozen Texas sized dark chocolate cupcakes! The best part was licking the beater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
271 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
My family loved this frosting. It was a bit soft even with all of the sugar, I added a little more. The taste is phenomenal, this frosting could be desert all by itself! Very easy to make; I doubled the recipe to fill and frost one two layer cake, there were even leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bremen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
EXcellent! I wanted frosting for brownies so I wanted something fudgy and glossy. That was easily accomplished with this recipe simply by melting the butter. Before it even made it to the brownies I gave it a taste test (yup, with the tip of my finger I confess) and I knew it was exactly what I wanted. I didn't see the necessity for the evaporated milk - I preferred to use half and half. I used this to top "Simply Fudgy Brownies" (that recipe is pretty darn good too), frosting them while they were still warm. This frosting will make its way back to my kitchen again, I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
I too used cocoa to thicken rather than powdered sugar - what a great idea! This frosting was wonderful and was enough to frost a one layer 9x13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
I tried this recipe, followed it perfectly and yet it turned out horrible. I made it for a cake for my boyfriend when he got a new job he really wanted, and we couldn't even eat it. I'm very disappointed that I wasted those ingredients. I won't be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennibean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Terrebonne, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This recipe worked really well - I made 1 1/2 it so it would fill and frost a 9 inch layer cake, and it was just enough. I used unsalted butter, and it tasted a little bland - I think either salted butter or a dash of salt would have been better. Chocolate always seems to need a bit of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
Oh my gosh! This frosting is so good! I am not usually a big frosting or icing fan because usually they are too sweet for me. I used Hershey's unsweetened cocoa powder. This is to die for! I couldn't stop eating it! I served it on top of chocolate zucchini cupcakes from this site and they were a big hit. I will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States