Creamy Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
can i use full cream milk instead of evaporated milk?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I didn't think that I could ever be surprised at how tasty a homemade chocolate frosting could be. I'm just going to tell you that after frosting my cupcakes, I put the leftover frosting in a storage bowl in the fridge, took it out the next day and ate it like pudding. Yeah, it's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This frosting is wonderful. I replaced 1 tbsp of the butter with shortening just to keep it a bit softer than standard buttercream, but keep it tasting how it's supposed to. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I've searched far and wide for the perfect chocolate butter cream frosting and oh...my...gosh. Words cannot describe how good this is. Try this and you will never eat another chocolate frosting again. And certainly not one from a can! It was simple--I had all the ingredients already--and the perfect texture and consistency. It was smooth, creamy and fluffy, yet stiff enough to hold it's shape on a cupcake. While you can sub with milk, I recommend sticking with the evaporated milk if you can. And when you are incorporating ingredients add a little at a time, alternating as you go--like she says--between the sugar mixture and the milk. When all are combined, be sure to beat an extra 3-5 minutes (with a hand mixer) so it gets nice and fluffy. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Anderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dale, Indiana, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
The consistency isn't quite what I had hoped for, it was more like an icing instead of a frosting, but, in all fairness, I did use 2% milk instead of evaporated, and margarine instead of butter (it is all I had on both). This improved, though, by just adding a little more confectioners sugar. And the taste... better than I had hoped!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Wonderful recipe! Thanks for sharing; I will be using it for many more years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Just tried it tonight to top a 2 layer 9" box chocolate cake. It was just barely enough to cover the whole cake, but then I did put a little in the middle to help hold the banana slices in place. The consistency was very sturdy, I used 3 T. of half-n-half as I don't tend to carry Evaporated milk in the house. I probably could have added just a tad more half-n-half to make the spreading easier. I didn't sift my sugar and used 7 T. of cocoa powder as I wanted a more chocolate taste. It is a very subtle chocolate taste, very sweet for my taste, but tasty. Don't know how one can make this runny! I made it while boiling chicken in my kitchen and it was getting warm and the frosting was fine. I didn't even use my Kitchen Aid, just a regular beater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrownSugar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA
Living In: Calistoga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
What a super simple chocolatey frosting. I'm a dark choco girl so i decreased the sugar and upped the cocoa but this recipe is a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This is a good basic recipe that can be dressed up easily. I wanted to make coconut flavored frosting but didn't have any coconut flavoring. I replaced it with coconut oil and it was great. I also didn't have evaporated milk. I used a little less than what was called for since the coconut oil is more wet and it worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Super easy to make but I did double the cocoa. Super yummy and great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fireftrlia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States