Creamy Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Absolutely the best frosting I have tasted. I normally cannot stomach frosting as it always seems to be too sweet or too rich. This frosting is amazing! I frosted vegan cupcakes with it and I could not be more pleased with the outcome. I've been raving about it since I finished baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Céilidh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Ok,I usually do not drink wine at 11 am, but I was the daughter-in-law who kind of got stuck with making dinner and dessert for my father-in-law's 75th birthday this weekend. I got brownie points from the in-laws because chips and dip was brought by the others. Ca-ching!! I'll get to the frosting review in a sec. Made 40 marinade teriyaki chicken legs, Fried Rice Restaurant style, and a devil's food chocolate cake with the Creamy Chocolate Frosting. Chicken legs were looking great in the oven, thank God! I have a way of making a HUGE mess in the kitchen when I'm hurried and making food for a big crowd. Did I mention that only half the people showed? Fried Rice managed to get done. Ok, after spilled rice, scrambled eggs, peas & carrots on floor, I ended up with a gallon of it. I did mention that half the relatives were a no show? The wine? Husband started to pour a glass. I eyed the clock and said it was still morning. He said that somewhere in the world it was already afternoon. No argument there! Ok, the frosting. Four month old hand mixer died. Five sips of wine. Mixer in garbage can. Transfer ingredients to Kitchen-Aid. Accidentally caught sweater sleeve on speed lever. Ever see powdered sugar and cocoa fly at the speed of a Maserati? Reminded myself that it was Sunday and decided not to cuss out-loud. I think. FYI: God's name was not involved. A few more sips of wine. Half-half cream & some butter shortening was used. Everyone lived--including me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ISITPAJAMATIME

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Very good! I didn't spend time sifting the powdered sugar and cocoa (just whisked it a little). It got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA
Living In: Gahanna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Yes I tried this recipe today. Very gritty. Will not use this again. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This recipe makes a LOVELY frosting! I followed it exactly except I doubled it for a 2 layer 9" cake. I read some of the reviews and was glad I did this. I wanted to make sure I had enough to generously frost the whole cake and I did with a tiny bit to spare. I don't think it would have been enough if I hadn't. However sifting that much sugar and cocoa was not fun! LOL. After sifting 2 cups worth I decided I was DONE and just left the rest unsifted. Fortunately it didn't seem to have any effect. The frosting came out so fluffy and creamy, but also a little on the thicker side, perfect for frosting a layer cake. And the taste was delicious! Not too sweet and just the right amount of chocolate flavor. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chloenavasmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I ended up having to triple the cocoa before I could gain approval from the taste testers. Once I got it to that level, they seemed to love it. I love that it's not from a can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I made this for my sons birthday. Thankfully I doubled the recipe because I kept eating it by the spoonful. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
can i use full cream milk instead of evaporated milk?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I didn't think that I could ever be surprised at how tasty a homemade chocolate frosting could be. I'm just going to tell you that after frosting my cupcakes, I put the leftover frosting in a storage bowl in the fridge, took it out the next day and ate it like pudding. Yeah, it's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States