Creamy Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Pretty good. A little too sweet for my taste so I added a pinch of salt also a bit more powder sugar to make a firmer consistency. I used it to fill a 6 in. And 10 in. Round layer cake. I highly doubt that there would be enough to frost an 8 in layer cake unless you just cut a single 8in cake in half. I would definitely double the recipe if you want a normal amount of frosting on your cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYNDEELYNN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Just made this to frost my Chocolate Truffle cake. I gave it 4 stars because it was Really, Really sugary sweet with a harsh edge to the cocoa flavor. Too sugary, said my KIDS, lol, so you know it's pretty sweet! I used cream instead of evaporated milk, and real butter because it's simply the Best flavor out there! Next time I will use a bit less powdered sugar and add a pinch or two of salt to cut the sweetness, and add more vanilla to mellow it out a bit more. Oh, and I doubled the recipe to frost my 13 x 9 cake and it made a LOT - there was more frosting than cake in the pan, lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glass Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I thought this was ok but my friend loved it. I did need to add more confectioners sugar. But it was for sure better than the store bought stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I recently took a baking class and am always looking for new frosting recipes to try. This recipe creates a frosting with a consistency that is perfect for piping! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Super delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I had to use heavy whipping cream because I didn't have the canned milk, but other than that, or in spite of it, it's great and enough to frost a 9 inch round, single layer cake. In spite of the sugar, it actually wasn't overly sweet to me, but kind of has a mocha flavor. I think I'm done with canned frosting. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Good frosting but I could tell it was made with cocoa. Something about the texture was not as creamy as I'd hoped. But still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This was exactly what I was looking for! Much better than store-bought. I used whole milk, instead of the evaporated milk, because that is what I had. Turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
My first time ever making chocolate frosting and it was delicious. Used it on doughnuts I made. Everyone enjoyed and so much better than store bought and nice and creamy. Definitely will be using again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I hate when you get all your ingrediants in the bowl and realize the milk has expired.... I got butter,vanilla, sugar, & cocoa in the bowl and found the milk was expired. Just before i paniced I saw my husbands coffee creamer "Sweet Cream" so I did the only I could, I used his creamer....OMG I will NEVER use store frosting again...This was SO easy and OMG is it ever good. Oh BTW i just eyed the amount of ingrediances... LOVE IT!!!! Thanks for sharing Sandy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States