Creamy Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
I'm not a huge chocolate frosting lover but this turned out fabulous... Very rich and creamy and the recipe made more than enough to frost the top of an 8 x 13 crazy cake (recipe from this site... Which is also delicious!). I used 1% milk because that's what I had on hand and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEWELJETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Very good. I made this for a chocolate cupcake recipe and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
This recipe was super simple and turned out great even with the 100 other distractions I had going on in the kitchen. Not sure how it didn't turn out for some. If it's gritty there is something majorly wrong with your ingredients. Did you use regular white sugar instead of powdered?? If it's runny your butter was closer to melted than softened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianna VonEye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Very tasty, but not ideal for a smooth iced cake. It leaves air bubbles and is hard to get completely smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
This is super yummy! Licking it off my fingers as we speak. I also used 2% milk and still turned out great. Perfect for my from-scratch chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I hadn't made chocolate frosting before (only vanilla buttercream), but I was tired of using the Betty Crocker's tub version because it always tastes waxy and too sweet with a bitter undertaste. This looked like the simplest yet high-rated frosting recipe around, and it's very true to what it says. I followed the recipe exactly, apart from an extra 2 TBSP of butter. The result was enough to thickly frost a 9" x 13" cake with a little left over, and tasty enough I keep eating the leftover frosting. It's very good, not the perfect 'fudgy' chocolate, but a richer chocolate. I'm still looking for a chocolate fudge type recipe, but this will do great on Devil's Food cakes for the time being.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I assembled the recipe a little different than it said to do. I mixed together the butter and cocoa powder until creamy, then added in 4 tbls heavy whipping cream instead of canned milk, mixed that together, and then I started adding in the powdered sugar. I only add in enough sugar until it's sweet enough for my taste. I rarely add in the full amount most frosting recipes call for. It turned out good and chocolately, but certainly wouldn't frost a double layer cake. Fortunately, I'm making a bunny cake for Easter and I've got peanut butter frosting, (recipe from this site) which will be the bunny's main color, with chocolate frosting dots. It'll work out perfectly. Good recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
nice - this is my go to chocolate frosting recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Thornton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Great chocolate frosting!. Definitely creamy and chocolatey without being overpowering. I paired this with Whipped Cream Cake II and it was a hit! The only change I made was to use heavy cream rather than evaporated milk (didn't want to open one just for this frosting as I normally don't use it). Add that milk/cream gradually as you may need more or less depending on your needs/tastes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Wonderful frosting. I used 1% milk, because I didn't have any eaa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States