Creamy Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Yes I tried this recipe today. Very gritty. Will not use this again. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This recipe makes a LOVELY frosting! I followed it exactly except I doubled it for a 2 layer 9" cake. I read some of the reviews and was glad I did this. I wanted to make sure I had enough to generously frost the whole cake and I did with a tiny bit to spare. I don't think it would have been enough if I hadn't. However sifting that much sugar and cocoa was not fun! LOL. After sifting 2 cups worth I decided I was DONE and just left the rest unsifted. Fortunately it didn't seem to have any effect. The frosting came out so fluffy and creamy, but also a little on the thicker side, perfect for frosting a layer cake. And the taste was delicious! Not too sweet and just the right amount of chocolate flavor. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chloenavasmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I ended up having to triple the cocoa before I could gain approval from the taste testers. Once I got it to that level, they seemed to love it. I love that it's not from a can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I made this for my sons birthday. Thankfully I doubled the recipe because I kept eating it by the spoonful. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
can i use full cream milk instead of evaporated milk?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I didn't think that I could ever be surprised at how tasty a homemade chocolate frosting could be. I'm just going to tell you that after frosting my cupcakes, I put the leftover frosting in a storage bowl in the fridge, took it out the next day and ate it like pudding. Yeah, it's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This frosting is wonderful. I replaced 1 tbsp of the butter with shortening just to keep it a bit softer than standard buttercream, but keep it tasting how it's supposed to. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I've searched far and wide for the perfect chocolate butter cream frosting and oh...my...gosh. Words cannot describe how good this is. Try this and you will never eat another chocolate frosting again. And certainly not one from a can! It was simple--I had all the ingredients already--and the perfect texture and consistency. It was smooth, creamy and fluffy, yet stiff enough to hold it's shape on a cupcake. While you can sub with milk, I recommend sticking with the evaporated milk if you can. And when you are incorporating ingredients add a little at a time, alternating as you go--like she says--between the sugar mixture and the milk. When all are combined, be sure to beat an extra 3-5 minutes (with a hand mixer) so it gets nice and fluffy. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Anderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dale, Indiana, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
The consistency isn't quite what I had hoped for, it was more like an icing instead of a frosting, but, in all fairness, I did use 2% milk instead of evaporated, and margarine instead of butter (it is all I had on both). This improved, though, by just adding a little more confectioners sugar. And the taste... better than I had hoped!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States