Creamy Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I made 1 1/2 the recipe for a two layer cake and I had a little left over. Cake was gone in no time. Everyone LOVED the frosting and I made it exactly as the recipe calls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I tried this, and found it to be way too sweet. To counter the sweetness I added a brick of cream cheese and about 6 oz of cool whip turning into whipped cream frosting. It came out amazing, but made it more of a milk chocolate frosting. And the cool whip gave it a wonderfully creamy texture. It spread on the cake like warm butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie Cornell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This is a great easy frosting! I used 2% milk and doubled the recipe to cover a 9" round layer cake with frosting in the middle and it was just the right amount!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Made it for my son's 15th birthday, he and his friends loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Awesome frosting!! Used 2% milk and halved the recipe, covered a one-layer 9 inch circle cake with a bit left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Amazing! This was the first chocolate frosting I've ever made and I picked it because of the other reviews and I'm really glad I did. My husband, who has a sweet tooth, and can be a good judge of flavor, said it was delicious! I did have to go back and make a second batch so I'd have enough to frost my two dozen cupcakes. Whipping up the second batch was even faster than the first time, though, and its so amazing, I dont care. My son's 3rd BD party is tomorrow and I'm sure people won't believe that I made this, hehe :) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Smooth, creamy, and delicious. I whipped it longer to use as a filling with my leopard sponge cake, and it was absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamakittyto3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montrose, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Absolutely the best frosting I have tasted. I normally cannot stomach frosting as it always seems to be too sweet or too rich. This frosting is amazing! I frosted vegan cupcakes with it and I could not be more pleased with the outcome. I've been raving about it since I finished baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Céilidh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Ok,I usually do not drink wine at 11 am, but I was the daughter-in-law who kind of got stuck with making dinner and dessert for my father-in-law's 75th birthday this weekend. I got brownie points from the in-laws because chips and dip was brought by the others. Ca-ching!! I'll get to the frosting review in a sec. Made 40 marinade teriyaki chicken legs, Fried Rice Restaurant style, and a devil's food chocolate cake with the Creamy Chocolate Frosting. Chicken legs were looking great in the oven, thank God! I have a way of making a HUGE mess in the kitchen when I'm hurried and making food for a big crowd. Did I mention that only half the people showed? Fried Rice managed to get done. Ok, after spilled rice, scrambled eggs, peas & carrots on floor, I ended up with a gallon of it. I did mention that half the relatives were a no show? The wine? Husband started to pour a glass. I eyed the clock and said it was still morning. He said that somewhere in the world it was already afternoon. No argument there! Ok, the frosting. Four month old hand mixer died. Five sips of wine. Mixer in garbage can. Transfer ingredients to Kitchen-Aid. Accidentally caught sweater sleeve on speed lever. Ever see powdered sugar and cocoa fly at the speed of a Maserati? Reminded myself that it was Sunday and decided not to cuss out-loud. I think. FYI: God's name was not involved. A few more sips of wine. Half-half cream & some butter shortening was used. Everyone lived--including me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ISITPAJAMATIME

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Very good! I didn't spend time sifting the powdered sugar and cocoa (just whisked it a little). It got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA
Living In: Gahanna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States