Creamy Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BRIDY
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2015
I made mine Vegan. Instead of butter, I used shortening and instead of milk I used water. It turned out great. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2015
No evaporated milk, like others used 2%. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2015
The texture was great- it was easy to spread and looked shiny and nice. Unfortunately, I didn't like the flavor of this frosting. I think the evaporated milk gives it that "canned frosting" flavor. Why go to the trouble to make home-made if it's going to taste like a can of store-bought? I won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2015
I added a little bit more evaporated milk than the recipe calls for because I like to have a smooth and creamy frosting. I also think that it goes great with a vanilla cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2015
Just made this recipe and it was wonderful! Most frosting/icing recipes are way too sweet for my taste, but this one is perfect. It's sweet but not too sweet and definitely better than any of that gross canned icing. I really like it a lot! The only change I made was that I used 2% milk instead of the evaporated milk. Just didn't want to open a can for such a small amount. I saw other reviews that said it worked for them so I did it and it worked for me too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2015
Delicious and super easy to make. Requires less butter than other buttercream icing and the evaporated milk cuts the sweetness nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ktv479
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2015
So creamy yet light! Best chocolate frosting I've tried so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2015
Great recipe! Tried it out the other night on a test cake, and loved it! But the thing is, I could instantly taste the cavities. Today on the other hand, I had to make a little extra for a birthday cake, and was actually half a cup short on the confectioners sugar. So I thought to put in an extra half cup of cocoa to balance out the dry-wet ratio. All I can say is that it went from a great recipe to a perfect one after that simple change, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shayne Malie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angaval3
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2015
Fabulous recipe! Was a hit for chocolate cupcakes from this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2015
Perfect amount for cupcakes! Love that it only ask for 6 tsp butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States