Creamy Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by I'm Wasted
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Really good recipe. I also used it to frost a boxed cake like some others have, I had to keep adding the sugar and cocoa powder after the required measurements because I wanted it thicker (frosting has to withstand decorations, like little toy cars, for my son's birthday cake). I will try to post the finished product if it turns out to my liking. Overall, a very good standard recipe that can be easily adjusted to one's preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I'm Wasted

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Ive been baking for a few years now and using the stuff you buy in markets to frost my cakes and cupcakes. I wanted to make an entire cake completely from scratch. I doubled the recipe in order to fill 9 inch 2 layer cake. It worked out perfectly. I'm never using store boughy again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I love this frosting!!! First time ever making chocolate frosting and this recipe is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This was a great recipe. It was VERY creamy! I added a little less than 6 tbs of evaporated milk at it turned out to be the perfect consistency. My whole family loved it and it tasted great. 5 star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Very delicious! Will never buy stuff from the tub again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Great frosting, VERY easy. Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This was one of the best frosting I have made. Next time I would reduce the sugar by 1/4 cup and I added 1/2 tsp instant coffee and 1/4 tsp salt. The flavor was elivated.. Yum. Sure a keeper. I took the advice of one of the reviews to add milk instead of evaporated milk.. It works like magic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Excellent recipe. Very easy to whip up and the flavor was outstanding. I didn't have any condensed milk, but had a little heavy cream left over from another recipe, so used that. The frosting was very creamy and easy to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I reduced the sugar to 200gr (half) and instead of the milk I used cream to correct the consistency of the buttercream. It turned out sweet enough (for me) and was great to put on my chocolate cupcakes. But its better to put sugar/cacao-mix at 2 times, then adjust the consistency and then the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathrine

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I added a bit more sugar as well - was looking for something a little stiffer to frost cupcakes, but had a nice dark color and delicious flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delran, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States