Creamy Chocolate Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
really tasty although I would recommend following the directions on the recipe. I tried to make it using the microwave to melt everything but it turned out to be more difficult. I added a bit of cocoa powder and cream of tartar to make it taste richer and to let it stiffen up a bit. Overall a really delicious frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
This is a great recipe but it is very rich! My kids loved it! Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Schererville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This recipe is really easy and tastes great and became the perfect option for a chocolate cake I made with my boyfriend; he likes confectioners´ sugar frosting that turns a bit hard and I, on the other hand, like a creamy and buttery kind of frosting. This has elements of both and works perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
I sifted the powdered sugar first since I've previously used unsifted sugar and couldn't get the lumps out. I needed less than the 1/4 cup of water to get the right consistance for my tube pan cake. The icing has a shiny look and a fabulous taste. This will be my new favorite chocolate frosting! If you're making a layer cake I would double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
I took this recipe up to 9 servings this time because last time I needed a bit more for my tube cake. It is by far the best chocolate frosting I've ever made. I put it on a Mohawk Milk cake (recipe on site) and people went nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
this is an amazing recipe..very rich. if you find it hardening,just stir it and it will once again be easy to work with. i found it was a little thin and that i had to add more sugar, but overall the recipe was easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Very good... easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
My family loooved this recipe!! I used it to frost 8 cupcakes and one 8" round cake. It was so easy to make and soo very good. It's my new favorite icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Really good recipe! I used butter and Ghirardelli semisweet chocolate chips. It was delicious. Consistency was perfect. From now on, this is THE chocolate frosting I will be using for cakes and cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
fantastic recipe...fast and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Edgewater, Maryland, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States