Creamy Chocolate Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
This is a great recipe but it is very rich! My kids loved it! Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Schererville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
really tasty although I would recommend following the directions on the recipe. I tried to make it using the microwave to melt everything but it turned out to be more difficult. I added a bit of cocoa powder and cream of tartar to make it taste richer and to let it stiffen up a bit. Overall a really delicious frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
Be careful. I got it to the consistency I wanted which was not too runny but a little fluffy, and I was quick to put it on the cake but it was setting before I could finish icing the cake, which meant it stuck to the knife and my fingers and not the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan D-H

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
I sifted the powdered sugar first since I've previously used unsifted sugar and couldn't get the lumps out. I needed less than the 1/4 cup of water to get the right consistance for my tube pan cake. The icing has a shiny look and a fabulous taste. This will be my new favorite chocolate frosting! If you're making a layer cake I would double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
I took this recipe up to 9 servings this time because last time I needed a bit more for my tube cake. It is by far the best chocolate frosting I've ever made. I put it on a Mohawk Milk cake (recipe on site) and people went nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Very good! I doubled this for a 13 inch cake. Melted the butter and chocolate in the microwave without a problem. Had a bit of a consistency issue so added 4 heaping tablespoons cocoa powder and 3 heaping tablespoons confectioners' sugar and it turned out well! Very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BluJaysGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This is a fabulous, yummy frosting that works very well on cupcakes. After I allowed the cupcakes to cool, I dipped them top-first right into the frosting. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffern, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
this is an amazing recipe..very rich. if you find it hardening,just stir it and it will once again be easy to work with. i found it was a little thin and that i had to add more sugar, but overall the recipe was easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
This recipe was easy and yummy, although I doubled the recipe and I had to add a bit more liquid. I also substituted 1/2 the amount of water with lukewarm coffee that I had already made for the One Bowl Chocolate Cake 3 that I made this for. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Very good... easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States