Creamy Chocolate Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Alexis
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Great recipe! I don't think this amount makes enough, so I do I little bit different portions, 3-4 oz chocolate depending on how fudgey I want it to be, 4 tbs salted butter, 1 tsp vanilla extract, and then I alternate confectioner's sugar and MILK (not water) until I'm happy with the taste and consistency -- that covers about 24 cupcakes. If you're looking for something rich and creamy to put on any cake, this is perfect. Much better taste than any recipe I've tried with cocoa powder, heating up solid chocolate is the way to go. Also works great for piping if you get it to the right consistency, but that takes a little knowledge of frosting and playing with consistency ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
perfect consistency and taste. (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I made this frosting and it was super easy to make and tasted great. I don't have an electric mixer so I mixed with a spoon without any problems. I added the sugar a half cup at a time and added a little of the water as I went and it turned out perfect. Not everyone has an electric mixer but don't let that steer you away from this easy delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I love this frosting. You can do it all in the microwave - makes it so easy. (put the chocolate, water, and butter in a microwave proof bowl - melt, then add vanilla & sugar - stir quickly). Also - using margarine - it becomes a dairy free frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This was exactly what I was looking for: simple buttercream-style frosting that I can make without a lot of fussy ingredients. But, beware that there's little to hide an off-taste chocolate or butter. I only had sweetened chocolate, so I reduced the sugar to 1 cup, and I used milk instead water as I prefer the taste. If your frosting starts to stiffen while spreading, beat in more liquid a little at a time until you achieve the desired consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
this was very good. I was a little confused with how much chocolate to use and i don't think i put enough in. Other than that this is an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I really loved this frosting. The sour cream made it nice and creamy and not too sweet. What I did not realize is I never added the water. It does not need it. I would give this 4 1/2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Loved it! I've been looking for a really good chocolate frosting for a very long time. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Terrible - the sugar completely dries up the chocolate mixture so that it is all nothing but powder and can't be blended no matter how much it is heated. I had to throw the whole batch out. Waste of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States