Creamy Chocolate Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Great recipe! the cupcakes turned out very moist, which was perfect for me because I used this recipe to make Self-Filled cupcakes, and I need it to be thicker than regular cake batter .. I would add more chocolate :) but that's just me .. . I'm giving the recipe 4stars because the amount of vinegar recomended stands out a bit . al least forn me ... Using this recipe I made 32 cupcakes, adding 1tbsp batter+1tbsp filling (see Self Filled Cupcakes) + 1tbsp and 1tsp batter. I used the recipe for Basic Cream Cheese Frosting to decorate them.. Perfect finish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doralys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caracas, Distrito Federal, Venezuela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Awesome recipe! So easy and turned out better than I expected, super rich and love how the filling centered!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Okay, but not that great. I can't pinpoint exactly what it is, but somehow, they just don't taste quite right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spauldic
Home Town: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Some pluses of this recipe is that it was very easy & fast. I was looking for a great cupcake that I could make to give away as gifts for Christmas and was trying to go for the whole trendy gourmet angle. These are NOT that. These taste like they came from a mix, and although very tasty, aren't the sort of fancy bakery quality I was going for. If I made them again, I would put a little batter in the cup, then the cream cheese filling, then cover that up with more batter. The way these turned out with adding the cream cheese on top was a very uneven surface and no filling in the lower half of the cupcake. Overall I think people will like them but probably won't be asking what bakery I got them from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Good! Solid, and tasty, even though I forgot the filling! I'm such a space case!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Too much batter and filling. It might be good to make an additional 2 or 3 cupcakes in another pan. Very good tasting, best with a creamy icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by codeseven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Sadly, this recipe did not work out for me. The outside was dry and the middle was soggy. I will be sure to try them another day ... Alas, I am not a baker. **sigh**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayceeP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I loved it! I had to use lemon juice instead of vinegar because I ran out. The filling was great and I did not put in the choco chips. I put a spoon full of batter on top. Then I made a cream cheese frosting and sprinkled mini chocolate chips. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I really think this is a good recipe. I left out the nuts and chips to get a more creamy filling and because my family doesn't like nuts that much. The cake was nice and I used a chocolate frosting with a cream cheese topper and sprinkles. These were a big hit at a pre-wedding lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Boring, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
The chocolate part of the cupcake came out a bit hard and not as cakey as I like. The cream cheese center was fabulous. I kept inserting a toothpick into the center to check for doneness and then I remembered that there were chocolate chips in the center and that would be why the toothpick kept coming out gooey! (Might explain why the cupcakes were hard as well.) I frosted them with Tom's Whipped Cream Cream Cheese frosting recipe and they were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States