Creamy Chocolate Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Great recipe! the cupcakes turned out very moist, which was perfect for me because I used this recipe to make Self-Filled cupcakes, and I need it to be thicker than regular cake batter .. I would add more chocolate :) but that's just me .. . I'm giving the recipe 4stars because the amount of vinegar recomended stands out a bit . al least forn me ... Using this recipe I made 32 cupcakes, adding 1tbsp batter+1tbsp filling (see Self Filled Cupcakes) + 1tbsp and 1tsp batter. I used the recipe for Basic Cream Cheese Frosting to decorate them.. Perfect finish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doralys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caracas, Distrito Federal, Venezuela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Awesome recipe! So easy and turned out better than I expected, super rich and love how the filling centered!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Okay, but not that great. I can't pinpoint exactly what it is, but somehow, they just don't taste quite right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spauldic
Home Town: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Some pluses of this recipe is that it was very easy & fast. I was looking for a great cupcake that I could make to give away as gifts for Christmas and was trying to go for the whole trendy gourmet angle. These are NOT that. These taste like they came from a mix, and although very tasty, aren't the sort of fancy bakery quality I was going for. If I made them again, I would put a little batter in the cup, then the cream cheese filling, then cover that up with more batter. The way these turned out with adding the cream cheese on top was a very uneven surface and no filling in the lower half of the cupcake. Overall I think people will like them but probably won't be asking what bakery I got them from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Good! Solid, and tasty, even though I forgot the filling! I'm such a space case!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Too much batter and filling. It might be good to make an additional 2 or 3 cupcakes in another pan. Very good tasting, best with a creamy icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by codeseven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Sadly, this recipe did not work out for me. The outside was dry and the middle was soggy. I will be sure to try them another day ... Alas, I am not a baker. **sigh**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayceeP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I loved it! I had to use lemon juice instead of vinegar because I ran out. The filling was great and I did not put in the choco chips. I put a spoon full of batter on top. Then I made a cream cheese frosting and sprinkled mini chocolate chips. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I really think this is a good recipe. I left out the nuts and chips to get a more creamy filling and because my family doesn't like nuts that much. The cake was nice and I used a chocolate frosting with a cream cheese topper and sprinkles. These were a big hit at a pre-wedding lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Boring, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
The chocolate part of the cupcake came out a bit hard and not as cakey as I like. The cream cheese center was fabulous. I kept inserting a toothpick into the center to check for doneness and then I remembered that there were chocolate chips in the center and that would be why the toothpick kept coming out gooey! (Might explain why the cupcakes were hard as well.) I frosted them with Tom's Whipped Cream Cream Cheese frosting recipe and they were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States