Creamy Chicken Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Here's the thing- as written, this recipe is a GREAT base, but it's pretty bland and I'd probably give it 3 stars. But with some VERY simple changes this is a solid 5 and I don't want to discourage others from making it by only giving it 3. Here's what I changed: Saute 1 small, diced onion in 2 Tbsp of butter with 2 tsp minced garlic. Add thyme (increased to 1 tsp), black pepper (increased to 2 tsp), 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes, 1 Tbsp poultry seasoning. Add this mixture to the soup. I also decreased the spinach by about 1/2 a cup because there was just SO much spinach in the soup. After the changes (none of which really change the basic recipe) this soup is PHENOMENAL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This is very good. I cooked it with the help of the first review and it turned out really good. The first reviewer is right on!! Less spinach, ect. everything that was suggested was helpful! If u dont have frozen tortellini then u can use packaged also. Love this soup, yum, yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I made my own cheese tortellini with wonton wrappers and ricotta cheese, chive and parmesean mixture. I put about 2 tablespoons butter, choppped green onion and some fine chopped bell pepper into pan and cooked to soften. I then added 2 cans of broth as one was not enough to cook the tortellini. Fresh spinach was all that I had on hand, chopped and added near the end to wilt properly. An extra sprinkle of grated parmesean on serving and a sprinkle of garlic croutons. This one is definitely a good base that can go in many directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
We loved this easy and delicious recipe - perfect for a cold and rainy day! I made a few minor tweaks by using a lower sodium chicken soup, fresh ground black pepper and garlic. Thanks for sharing your recipe Trina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I'm glad you are enjoying the recipe. Please tweak away I learn just as much from others who add ideas. I have a picky eater at home so most of my recipes need to be somewhat bland. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I made this different enough that normally I wouldn't have even reviewed it, but I wanted to show just how versatile this recipe is. I used tilapia rather than chicken (seasoned with Old Bay), peas rather than spinach, and I used a full tsp of thyme and pepper plus added garlic and onion powder to taste, and a tiny bit of red pepper. Turned out just delicious! So use it as a base and experiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Nope, no good. I put about half the spinach in it and it was still too much. The cream of chicken soup made it too salty and tasted processed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mostlyprobably
Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Really enjoyed this. Reminded me of Spinach Artichoke dip. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lizemjw
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
It was so good! I liked the amount of spinach. I pan fried my chicken first with olive oil and then added it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizemjw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
For one, I cut the spinach to about half. It was just too much. I also use more veggies- carrots, mushrooms, celery, onion (as much as you like) along with minced garlic. I cook all of those together in the chicken broth until tender, then mix into the soup. I have 3 kids ages 15, 12 &5 and they all love this recipe. With a little doctoring, I give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States