Creamy Chicken Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Here's the thing- as written, this recipe is a GREAT base, but it's pretty bland and I'd probably give it 3 stars. But with some VERY simple changes this is a solid 5 and I don't want to discourage others from making it by only giving it 3. Here's what I changed: Saute 1 small, diced onion in 2 Tbsp of butter with 2 tsp minced garlic. Add thyme (increased to 1 tsp), black pepper (increased to 2 tsp), 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes, 1 Tbsp poultry seasoning. Add this mixture to the soup. I also decreased the spinach by about 1/2 a cup because there was just SO much spinach in the soup. After the changes (none of which really change the basic recipe) this soup is PHENOMENAL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This is very good. I cooked it with the help of the first review and it turned out really good. The first reviewer is right on!! Less spinach, ect. everything that was suggested was helpful! If u dont have frozen tortellini then u can use packaged also. Love this soup, yum, yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I made my own cheese tortellini with wonton wrappers and ricotta cheese, chive and parmesean mixture. I put about 2 tablespoons butter, choppped green onion and some fine chopped bell pepper into pan and cooked to soften. I then added 2 cans of broth as one was not enough to cook the tortellini. Fresh spinach was all that I had on hand, chopped and added near the end to wilt properly. An extra sprinkle of grated parmesean on serving and a sprinkle of garlic croutons. This one is definitely a good base that can go in many directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
We loved this easy and delicious recipe - perfect for a cold and rainy day! I made a few minor tweaks by using a lower sodium chicken soup, fresh ground black pepper and garlic. Thanks for sharing your recipe Trina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I'm glad you are enjoying the recipe. Please tweak away I learn just as much from others who add ideas. I have a picky eater at home so most of my recipes need to be somewhat bland. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lizemjw
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
It was so good! I liked the amount of spinach. I pan fried my chicken first with olive oil and then added it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizemjw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I made this different enough that normally I wouldn't have even reviewed it, but I wanted to show just how versatile this recipe is. I used tilapia rather than chicken (seasoned with Old Bay), peas rather than spinach, and I used a full tsp of thyme and pepper plus added garlic and onion powder to taste, and a tiny bit of red pepper. Turned out just delicious! So use it as a base and experiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Nope, no good. I put about half the spinach in it and it was still too much. The cream of chicken soup made it too salty and tasted processed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snailcarnival

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Really enjoyed this. Reminded me of Spinach Artichoke dip. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I LOVED this recipe!! So easy to make, quick, ready in a snap!! Today was a cold day in March and this soup really hit the spot!! I searched for a "canned chicken breast" recipe and got this recipe which called for "canned chicken broth" and "canned cream of chicken soup". I still went with the canned chicken breast, which shortened my cooking time by about 15min. I also used dry packaged tortellini instead of refrigerated, because the dry 12oz package was .99cents and I got more tortellini. The dry tortellini required double the amount of chicken broth so that it could cook for 15min. I used fresh spinach leaves out of a bag found in the salad section. I loved this soup! Try it tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Martinez
Home Town: Palm City, Florida, USA
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States