Creamy Chicken Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Here's the thing- as written, this recipe is a GREAT base, but it's pretty bland and I'd probably give it 3 stars. But with some VERY simple changes this is a solid 5 and I don't want to discourage others from making it by only giving it 3. Here's what I changed: Saute 1 small, diced onion in 2 Tbsp of butter with 2 tsp minced garlic. Add thyme (increased to 1 tsp), black pepper (increased to 2 tsp), 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes, 1 Tbsp poultry seasoning. Add this mixture to the soup. I also decreased the spinach by about 1/2 a cup because there was just SO much spinach in the soup. After the changes (none of which really change the basic recipe) this soup is PHENOMENAL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I made this tonight for supper. I did double the recipe, also added garlic, red onion, few tbsp. of margarine. 1/2 box of creamed spinach chopped very fine. 2 out of my 3 teenagers liked it. Made crusty bread and also added a little shredded 5-cheese Italian cheese on top of it in the bowl. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I loved how easy this was to make! I have a picky eater at home too and he loved it!! I have even tweaked this recipe and used Italian sausage instead of the chicken and left out the spinach. I still prefer your original recipe best. Awesome dinner with garlic breadsticks... Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This is very good. I cooked it with the help of the first review and it turned out really good. The first reviewer is right on!! Less spinach, ect. everything that was suggested was helpful! If u dont have frozen tortellini then u can use packaged also. Love this soup, yum, yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
We loved this easy and delicious recipe - perfect for a cold and rainy day! I made a few minor tweaks by using a lower sodium chicken soup, fresh ground black pepper and garlic. Thanks for sharing your recipe Trina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shearone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I LOVED this recipe!! So easy to make, quick, ready in a snap!! Today was a cold day in March and this soup really hit the spot!! I searched for a "canned chicken breast" recipe and got this recipe which called for "canned chicken broth" and "canned cream of chicken soup". I still went with the canned chicken breast, which shortened my cooking time by about 15min. I also used dry packaged tortellini instead of refrigerated, because the dry 12oz package was .99cents and I got more tortellini. The dry tortellini required double the amount of chicken broth so that it could cook for 15min. I used fresh spinach leaves out of a bag found in the salad section. I loved this soup! Try it tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Palm City, Florida, USA
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Really enjoyed this. Reminded me of Spinach Artichoke dip. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I'm glad you are enjoying the recipe. Please tweak away I learn just as much from others who add ideas. I have a picky eater at home so most of my recipes need to be somewhat bland. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
the entire family loves this recipe as is, although I usually add a bit of salt and garlic to it. It is one thing my pickiest child does not complain about!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Made this with the help of the first review but didn't add as much pepper as she suggested. This recipe is WONDERFUL. ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States