Creamy Chicken Gnocchi Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Ohhhhh....... this soup is wonderful!! I was looking for a way to use up a rotisserie chicken, and hit on this recipe. The only changes I made were to add mushrooms, because you can never have too many mushrooms in anything. The other change I made was that I use the product called "Better than Bouillon" instead of canned chicken broth, and I added some extra to make the soup a bit chicken-y-er; I thought it tasted a bit flour-y. Oh yes, and I used skim milk in place of the ff half and half. Wonderful soup! I served it with the bread called "steakhouse bread" from this site--warm from the bread machine. A perfect meal!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I thought this was absolutely wonderful. The roasted chicken really made a difference. My husband in really not into veggies so I was able to hide most of then by using an emersion blender on everything but the chicken and the gnocchi (left out the red pepper and the spinach..that would be hard to hide, and put that in my half). Snuck the rest right by him and he really liked it too. Thanks Kristin for getting veggies into my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie Dillon

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
If you want to get a good meal on the table with minimal time, effort and dishes, this is a great choice. Doing your prep work ahead of time makes it even easier. This is rich and satisfying, but still nutritious given all the good meat and vegetables - even more so if you skip the flour, which I did. I’s not necessary. I added mushrooms to the mix which was a good and compatible addition. Loved the zucchini in this for substance, but loved the addition of the red bell pepper even more – it gave the soup a great boost of flavor. I used full fat half-and-half, and chose to use a little more chicken broth than the equal parts broth and half-and-half called for. We like very simple, fresh flavors, so omitting the nutmeg and thyme was a good choice for our taste preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
This is better than the gnocchi and chicken soup at a major restaurant chain known for it's 'garden' if you get my drift. This is the best recipe I have tried on this site so far and considering I have tried approximately two hundred, this is saying a lot! I don't buy rotisserie chicken but I own an electric pressure cooker that takes fifteen minutes to cook several leg quarters to fall off the bone tenderness so I used that instead. I also reduced the half & half by one cup and used milk instead. The only other change I made was to omit the red bell pepper since I don't like it. This was the perfect way to use gnocchi in a different vehicle than just covering it in sauce. It is my favorite pasta and I love it cooked past the point of just done and more on the 'fluffy' end so allowing it to cook in this savory mixture created the perfect texture to my taste. My family raved about this soup and the recipe is going in my rotation to be made regularly. Thanks Kristin for sharing this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kymbrown1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Boiling Springs, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lawrenceburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BamaMama
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This was excellent! Even better than Olive Garden if you ask me. I added mushrooms since we love them. Seasoned it to our taste because it tasted a little bland following the recipe. Everything else I kept the same! My husband isn't a big soup lover and he had 2 bowls ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grafenwöhr, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
4.5 Used squash gnocchi, 1 pint of half and half, one cup of water. Otherwise, recipe as presented.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Oh my - YUM! Made as recipe as stated - except used 1.5 cups of half-n-half and 1.5 cups of fat free milk and added sliced mushrooms. After tasting, added more black pepper, thyme, nutmeg and added some rosemary and grated parmesan cheese. It got pretty thick, so added 1 cup of water to thin it out a bit. Really delicious. Will make again and will also try with leftover holiday turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This is 5* restaurant quality soup! I'm addicted to it....can't stop eating it!!! The only change I will make next time is to roast the red peppers! ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
It was delicious. I did this pretty close to how the recipe was written except I did not have any red bell peppers. I also did not use fat free half and half, I just used half and half and whole milk. I also used kale rather than spinach because that is what I had on hand. However, I doubt these adjustments made much difference in flavor and it was simply fantastic. Not difficult at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Family loves this rich filling soup. Have made twice and find it too thick even after adding extra broth. Next time will omit flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States