Creamy Chicken Enchiladas Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
These enchiladas were delicious!!! I used garlic powder inplace of the minced garlic. I also "charred" my tortillas over an open flame before filling them. Yumm Yumm Yumm!! Very simple to make, I used 2 large frozen chicken breasts that I boiled in seasoned water then shredded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
These were yummy and easy, very Americanized though. I would skip this recipe if you're looking for something more authentic tasting, but as it is it's a very creamy, comforting dish. I didn't have the special Philly shredded cheese so I just used a regular bag of Mexican style cheese and added a couple tablespoons of cream cheese to the sauce mixture in the pan. Next time I'll probably add some cumin and cayenne to punch up the flavor a bit, and maybe use more salsa. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sicily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
These enchiladas are actually really delicious. I'm not big on cooking, nor am I really good at it, but this recipe is really simple. The directions are easy to follow, and they are tasty. I seasoned my skinless chicken breast fillets with salt and pepper and cooked them on the George grill and then shredded the chicken. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Not bad. As Hubs put it, these were "a solid three," but they would have been easily improved with more sauce, plain and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This recipe was AWESOME! We will definitely make it again :) The only thing I did differently was shred my own cheese from bricks (mix of jack and cheddar) and I seasoned 3 chicken breasts with homemade fajita seasoning (though, you could use store bought), pan seared them for 3 minutes per side, put a tight fitting lid and removed from heat for 20 mins. I shredded the chicken in a bowl with 2 forks and poured the pan juices over top. I wiped the pan and used that for the onions and, ultimately, the mixture for the insides of the enchiladas. I also cut the tortillas down to 6. We have 2 adults and 2 kids in the family. This was enough for 2 full dinners. I served it with Cuban inspired black beans, Vigo yellow rice, and an ensalata garnish. Also, I assumed tomatillo salsa and salsa verde were equivalent because I used Pace's salsa verde.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Very simple to make and very tasty. I bought the 6in tortilla as the recipe calls for but it made 20 enchiladas! They turned out great so the way I see it, the more, the merrier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
very good; everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
We loved this! Super easy. I added some cumin and ancho chili seasoning to this for some extra "punch". We will be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
REALLY good! Even the kids ate it (13, 11, and 8)! My slow cooker cooked the chicken perfectly for shredding; then I used regular salsa, didn't have garlic or green chilies. I added extra of the cheese and sour cream/salsa mix on top and voila! Happy family! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Four and a half stars. I used a quality tomatillo salsa in the chicken mixture and added a teaspoon each of cumin, mexican oregano and chili powder for more punch. I used sharp cheddar cheese and increased it to use a full 8 oz. block. I also used corn tortillas and fried them in oil before using them. This actually made enough to fill one 9x13 and one 8x8 glass baking dish. I used one thirty count package of corn tortillas. The big baking dish was served for dinner tonight and I covered the smaller baking dish with foil for my husband to warm for his lunch tomorrow after noon. I paired this with spanish rice and refried beans. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garden Ratatouille

See how to make cheesy baked chicken ratatouille with fresh garden herbs.

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States