Creamy Chicken, Bacon and Tomato Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This recipe was awesome! I tweaked it a little..I used a little extra bacon, fresh garden tomatoes seasoned myself, fresh garlic, fresh parsley and I used 1/4 cup water to ensure the sauce stayed thick and flavorful. My family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This recipe did not have a lot of depth as far as flavor goes. I probably would not make this again. I added some other seasonings to try to make it more flavorful. Also, I would suggest cutting back on the amount of water added - the sauce comes out too thin and watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artworkbykaren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
After reading the reviews that suggested the recipe was a bit bland, I made a few changes to try and avoid this, with fairly good success! As others suggested, seasoning the chicken as it cooks is important. Since I didn't have any bacon, I cooked the chicken bits in bacon grease, and seasoned them with black pepper, salt, white pepper, ground coriander, and dark beer (in place on the 1/2 cup of water) as well as some cayenne pepper for a bit of spice. I think using the bacon fat may have helped to dry out the chicken breast pieces more then I would have liked, although I liked the flavor it added to the meal. Next time, I will try cooking the chicken in extra-virgin olive oil, and will add some bacon fat while I'm thickening the cream sauce. I was short on cream cream cheese, so I substituted heavy whipping cream for the remainder. After adding the tomatoes (with a little salt) and reducing the sauce for several minutes, I added some corn starch to help thicken it. The final change I made was to add a sprinkle of dried parsley to the bowls of finished pasta in addition to the Parmesan, just for color! Hopefully, I can keep the chicken more moist next time, but in the end, the sauce was absolutely delicious, and I will try to make this recipe again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oliver Springs, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I love this recipe. It has simple instructions and uses ingredients I usually have on hand. I season the chicken with salt and pepper and saute it in a bit of the bacon drippings. I also add more than half of the cream cheese into the sauce (about 3/4 bar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Very easy, quick tasty dinner!! We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Pretty good, but I don't think I'd have liked this as much if I hadn't spiced it up. I added garlic, garlic powder, onion powder, poultry seasoning, basil and oregano to the chicken before frying it up. I also tossed in some shallot and chive boursin cheese along with the cream cheese and didn't add any parmesan. I made the majority of this for a friend and her family and since they don't eat pork I left out the bacon entirely. This makes a lot--I wasn't really in the mood to measure out the pasta, so I just boiled an entire box with the thought that I could do something with the excess if needed. As it was, it all was fine to go in with the sauce and it coated it pretty well even though I left out the water completely. Other than cutting up the chicken, this was a pretty quick meal, so you could leave out the chicken (or use already cooked chicken) to make this even faster for a weeknight meal. Bf approved it, so I'd make it again with my modifications. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
As is this is very bland not very good at all. When it was done cooking I knew my family wouldn't be happy. Luckily the grocery store this week had the Philadelphia cooking cream for free this week so I had one of those on hand I added the whole container of that into the mix and thinned it out with a little half and half. I also doubled the bacon and used sea shell pasta as that is what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Ive made this recipe a few times since finding it and I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Small changes due to what I had on hand. I used elbow macaroni and because I couponed it for REAL cheap, I used Philly's Italian Cheese and Herb cooking cream (the whole stinkin' container). I did spice my chicken before cooking it (onion powder, garlic powder, basil, oregano, pepper) and I did saute some fresh sliced onion, minced garlic, chopped red bell pepper and sliced baby bellas (had to use them--so why not throw it in?) in the skillet after I added the chicken. Had I NOT spiced my chicken and used a flavored cooking cream, it would have been bland. I think it still could use some oomph, like maybe some chicken broth instead of plain water, fresh chopped sweet tomatoes and more spices so I might play with the recipe still. I think it could be a great little skillet meal. For those of you who have spotted the cooking cream in your supermarket, this is a good way to use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Absolutely incredible (after I tweaked it to my liking). It rivals the Chicken Bowtie Festival at Johnny Carino's!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Native Cowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oelrichs, South Dakota, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States