Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Great quick and easy slow cooker recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Too much chichen, not enough flavor or rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by m_clark
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I doubled the recipe and it came out great. so delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This is not gourmet but for a working family this meal delivers. It took me less than five minutes to prep and my kids will eat it. The rice is not firm -- more like a risotto / casserole. I used Uncle Bens Wild Rice Mix, only two chicken breast and one can each of cream of chicken and cream of mushroom because that was all I had. I used baby garden carrots in one inch pieces. The chicken pulls apart. I cooked it 7.5 hours on high. Served with canned corn which could be drained and added at the get go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This is a great meal! Perfect for cold days when all you want is comfort food! I use only two chicken breasts and one can of soup since I cook for only two of us. I use healthy request cream of chicken to make it a little healthier. I also add some garlic powder. This is my go to meal when I can't think of anything to make for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I made this recipe for the first time today. The only swap I made was to change the water for low-sodium chicken broth. I cooked it for 7 hours, partly because I was worried about the rice, as other reviewers have had some trouble. The chicken was cooked perfectly, as were the carrots. Unfortunately, I did have the mushy rice issue. For reference, I used the Rice-a-Roni mix. No one else said what they used but I'm assuming that's the issue. Next time I will try a different wild rice and perhaps use my own seasonings to strengthen the flavors. They were a little mild, as most people mentioned. This seems like a good base for a more complex recipe, or great if you have a picky eater who prefers milder foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tilton, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Loudon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
The flavor was good, however, it was a bit salty. I think that next time, I will have to try a different wild rice mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattiearnold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Bland but easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I thought this might be fast food for a busy day, and it was; it just wasn't the best slow cooker recipe I've tried. It was a little salty for me. I prefer the taste of long-grain and wild rice without the condensed soup. It could be just my taste preference. I didn't have the problem of uncooked carrots as others did because I sliced my carrots into very thin rounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This did not work at all for us. I ended up with crunchy carrots and a wallpaper paste mixture. It was also pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States