Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This did not work at all for us. I ended up with crunchy carrots and a wallpaper paste mixture. It was also pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
YUMMY! Boy, we loved this! I changed the preparation a little bit. I used the oven method and mix the rice with hot chicken broth then then topped the rice with carrots and browned chicken thighs then covered it all with the soup. I sprinkled the top with seasonings then covered with foil and baked for 1 hour. So, good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANSEAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Pretty fool-proof and tasty. Great on a chilly day with some biscuits. I added a can of green beans to the pot as well and it came out fine. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Delicious! i forgot to add the water to mine so my chicken was a bit dry but still good :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Not as good as I hoped. Rice was mushy and even after adding a bunch more spices than what was called for, it was still bland. Would only make again with modifications... maybe cook rice separately and add some serious jazz to the chicken. Tried modifying with Uncle Ben's Original Seasoned Wild Rice and Campbell's Cream of Chicken with Herbs, plus garlic powder, fresh celery, fresh onion, and black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Good base recipe. I made the following modifications for my lower sodium health preferences: To cut down on the sodium, I substituted 1 cup of homemade bechamel sauce for 1 can of cream of chicken soup. I used reduced sodium cream of mushroom soup instead of the other can of cream of chicken soup that the recipe calls for. I also substituted plain unseasoned wild rice instead of the seasoned packaged one, and added my own favorite dried spices (tarragon, italian seasoning, rosemary). I then added my own amount of salt and pepper. I used broccoli instead of carrots as a preference and used chicken thighs instead of breasts for more flavor. It turned out creamy, flavorful and yummy. I felt good about feeding my family a lower sodium meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This turned out wonderful. In addition to the ingredients required, I also added celery and onion. I will do it that way next time along with some salt and pepper. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
just made this today..the chicken fell apart ( I think I cooked it to long) but it still taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
The flavor was good but for me it came out really thick and sticky. Not really what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Hubby and I rated it 4, our 8 year old daughter said 5! Hubby thought it needed more veggies. I think next time I might ad some frozen peas. Carrots were still pretty crunchy after 6.5 hours but everything else was cooked. I didn't mind the crunchy carrots, they were yummy. I used chicken thighs because they are less expensive and we like them better. This was good, creamy comfort food. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States