Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
A+ I simmer a whole chicken, pick it and use that in it and I think it tastes better but still so easy and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynsey Weber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This was delicious! I added carrots, celery, onion and some a few diced garlic cloves the second time I made it. I didn't have the instant rice so I used long grain wild rice and cooked it in chicken broth. Also added some Thyme. Great recipe by its self or alter it to your taste. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Grange Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Micanopy, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
So easy and absolutely delicious! I added shredded carrots and a little more pepper. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Add Veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This is so good and easy. I made it in a crockpot, put uncooked chicken breasts, broth, rice, seasonings, onion, celery, and carrots. I added extra chicken broth and onion salt. When I was ready to serve it I made the roux. Could add more rice. Reviews say cut back flour and use milk instead of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Best recipe ever! The only thing I do different is add onions to the chicken broth and chicken and let it simmer for 10 min. My 7 year old son loves this in a bread bowl. I also made a large stock pot of this soup for my church's Christmas party. Lets just say there were no left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This was really great! I have to give it 4 stars because I altered it considerably. I only had regular wild rice, no prepackaged quick cooking. So, I cooked that ahead of time. I sauteed onions, carrots and celery in the butter. After sauteeing them until starting to get tender, I sprinkled the flour in and stirred for a minute. Then I added the chicken broth, water and 1% milk. Since I didn't have a prepackaged rice, in addition to salt and pepper, I added paprika, garlic salt (next time I'd just saute garlic with the veggies, I forgot), oregano, sage and a little turmeric for the yellow coloring. I stirred that and brought it to a boil. I stirred in the chicken, lowered the heat and let simmer for 15 minutes. I stirred in wild rice and served. It was a huge hit! My aunt in Wisconsin made us chicken and wild rice soup from a package, this was a great base that allowed us to enjoy the flavor without all the extra sodium. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I loved this soup!! I didn't have a package of seasoned rice so I precooked some wild and basmati rice and added 3/4 cup of the rice to the soup with some spices I mixed up. I used one cup of heavy cream and I cup of milk. They soup was awesome, kids loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Great flavor! Super easy! I cut my chicken in small chunks and gave a quick pan fry with cooking spray to cook it. Added some celery, onion and carrot to pot to cook with broth. I used whole milk instead of cream. Really great soup! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
This is a very tasty soup. My sister even had me make it for her wedding reception.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Piechocki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,598) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States