Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Annamarie
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
First time writing a review. This was so good! I added a few additions: 1/2c carrots, 1/2c celery and 1/2c broccoli. Also, I used a little less than the 2c heavy cream. The soup was very thick. The next day I heated it up with a good amount of water to make it thinner. Next time I will probably add an additional 1c water when making. Boyfriend said this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annamarie
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Amazing! My only change was that since I was doubling the recipe, I added 3 small onions and 1 celery heart sliced to the melting butter. This soup is so, so good and I'm known for my soup cooking. Amy C. Greensburg, PA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ro0ney
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Added carrots and broccoli. Used 1 cup heavy cream, one cup milk. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ro0ney
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
it was very heavy on the dairy. delicious though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Not a bad beginning, but it needs some serious work. I added garlic powder, herbes de provence, celery and carrots and it was STILL bland. Also, this soup was way too thick. When I reheated the leftovers for lunch today it was a solid casserole! It didn't thin at all when warmed. Not awful, but not nearly as good as the rating would lead you to believe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
What an amazing recipe!! I made this initially for my husband and I but the in laws came over and we all ate every last bit of this soup! My picky brother in law even went back for seconds, so I knew it was good. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
My husband and I added some carrots, celery, and onion and it was so delicious! We'll definitely be adding it to our list of regulars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Added mushrooms, carrot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hanners

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Fantastic flavor and heartiness! My 8 & 9 yr old picky eaters loved it. I had regular wild rice so I just cooked it separately. I sauteed a medium diced onion and 2 Tbs minced garlic in olive oil, then added a 1/2 cup of white wine and reduced a bit. Also, cut back the butter, flour and used skim milk. I added a Traders Joe's Cream of Mushroom soup because I didn't have mushrooms on hand and I love the flavor mushrooms add to a cream soup. Served this soup with crusty bread. I will make this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Did a few variations added sautéed carrots celery onion, fresh parsley but use the base of the recipe otherwise. Fantastic !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States