Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I used this recipe as a base for my tastes. I took 1 qt of home made chicken stock and 4 whole,skinless,chicken legs,(legs and thighs separated),put them in the crockpot on low,and let them simmer overnight. In the morning I drained the legs,reserving stock, let cool,and picked & chopped the meat. In the crockpot I threw a whole 6 oz.package of brown & wild mix,into the already hot reserved broth. In a stock pot, I sauteed in 2 TBS olive oil, 1 whole leek,tougher parts of green top removed, 1 cup each celery hearts and carrots,chopped, and 6 oz. mushrooms,diced small, until tender. I added to the stock pot 1 qt of homemade chicken broth and reserved broth/rice mixture,chicken meat, & I brought all to a boil and let simmer. I add an additional 1/2 C. wild rice mix & cook until tender. I wanted less calories so I used 6 TBS unsalted butter and 1/2 C.flour to make roux, and add 2 C. 1 percent milk. This makes 12 servings, and was a big hit at a church pot luck. (Approx. 286 calories).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I've made this recipe several times now. Always great. I went to make it one day and didn't have a wild rice mix so I used Trader Joe's Rice Orzo and Pilaf mix. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Delicious!! The Best Cream of Chicken Rice I have made! The only thing I added was garlic and a bit of garlic powder as I put it in almost everything few baby peas added might be nice next time!! Thank you for sharing is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Such a great recipe! I first made it as written and it was delicious. The second time I tweaked it just a bit. I boiled my chicken for this recipe and used 2 cups of it's water instead of plain water. I also used regular milk instead of the heavy cream and it was just as rich and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annamarie
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
First time writing a review. This was so good! I added a few additions: 1/2c carrots, 1/2c celery and 1/2c broccoli. Also, I used a little less than the 2c heavy cream. The soup was very thick. The next day I heated it up with a good amount of water to make it thinner. Next time I will probably add an additional 1c water when making. Boyfriend said this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annamarie
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Amazing! My only change was that since I was doubling the recipe, I added 3 small onions and 1 celery heart sliced to the melting butter. This soup is so, so good and I'm known for my soup cooking. Amy C. Greensburg, PA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ro0ney
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Added carrots and broccoli. Used 1 cup heavy cream, one cup milk. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ro0ney
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
it was very heavy on the dairy. delicious though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Not a bad beginning, but it needs some serious work. I added garlic powder, herbes de provence, celery and carrots and it was STILL bland. Also, this soup was way too thick. When I reheated the leftovers for lunch today it was a solid casserole! It didn't thin at all when warmed. Not awful, but not nearly as good as the rating would lead you to believe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
What an amazing recipe!! I made this initially for my husband and I but the in laws came over and we all ate every last bit of this soup! My picky brother in law even went back for seconds, so I knew it was good. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,498) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States