Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This is the best recipe. Made it three times this chilly winter and it's a hit every time. It's a filling meal with fresh bread and a side salad! No major changes - just personal preference: 1) I do add diced carrots & celery - they add some color 2) I used Uncle Bens Classiques Long Grain & Wild Rice mix - it has the seasoning packet and a dried veggies packet. 3) the flour and butter for the roux can be reduced...both for calories sake & the thickness 4) I've used milk and half and half in place of the heavy cream and both still make a very thick soup without the added calories. 5) I don't add any salt and used Campbell's 30% reduced sodium broth - the seasoning packet in the rice offers plenty of salt. I'll be sad winter is almost over (NOT) as this is really more a fall/winter meal! Would be great to take to an après ski party or winter potluck! Oh, and it does continue to thicken up - add a little more chicken broth and it won't dilute the flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Made as is. White rice. Needs salt and some additional spices. Subbed cornstarch and half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Great recipe to start a soup with. Like others I added sauteed onions, carrots and celery to the soup. I used the Uncle Ben's Wild Rice mix and I did not use all of the flour for my roux, only used a 1/2 c. I also threw in sliced mushrooms towards the end. I made this for my family and in laws and they ate the entire pot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Wonderful hearty soup after a cold
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
YUM... Made as written with the addition of carrots and celery. Simply, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly. The soup is easy to make and the finished product is a thick &hearty. The spices are just right as well. The only thing I might do differently next time would be to add some carrots or celery to introduce a veggie. Otherwise, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I just made this and WOW delish..the only thing I did a little different was add some corn and carrots then a splash of dry sherry..it really was amazing...The addition of the Sherry took it to a whole new level...dry white wine would be ok too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I made this recipe but instead of chicken I used hamburger, then I substituted something for every other ingredient, it was horrible. Then I made it as recommended and it was awesome, the kids even loved it. Seriously though folks, if you substitute 75% of the ingredients you are no longer reviewing this recipe. You are reviewing your own :) Why not submit the essentially New recipe for others to try? I like to see tips on variations, but at a certain point the recipe isn't anything like the original submission . This is delicious as described.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Awesome as written, but I like to add sauteed carrots, onions, celery and garlic plus a little poultry seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
This is the most absolutely delish soup I've made! Had a few changes, add ons. Put carrots, celery and a little onion and crushed garlic in. I think that really adds to it. Used 1/2 cream and 1/2 1% milk and it just worked out perfect. My husband had 4 bowls hot off the stove. Used the Uncle Bens wild rice and whole seasoning packet and wouldn't change that as it worked out really good. Also just used a rotisserie chicken from the deli, cut up. Makes no difference at all! Make this recipe! It's sooooo good!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kimberly, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States