Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
This is my all time favorite dish to cook in the winter! So easy to make and it delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
This soup was good. To make it 5 stars, I added sautéed onion, carrot, celery and garlic. Also, half and half rather than heavy cream. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gracehilton
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
This is a good recipe. I made some changes. I omitted the chicken broth and used chicken bouillon cubes. Six of them. Omitted the salt. Added sour cream, grated parmesan cheese, and green onions, corn, peas and carrots. With four cups of water. Also omitted the flour. If you want a thicker soup add more rice. Served it with garlic bread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
Excellent soup. Very hearty and filling. I did not use heavy cream but used half and half and it turned out great. I can't imagine it would have turned out better had I used it. It gets thick as it sits, but adding a little bit of regular milk when reheating solved that problem. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
Let me start off with one I am not a chef, but I love cream of chicken and rice, and thise soup hit thw spot. I didnt get the right rice, with the special seasoning but I improvised and added italian seasoning, onion powder and basil, it was heaven.. Going to always use the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa Duran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
Steve hated it so it doesn't matter that I thought it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
Not really a review, but my record for myself for what I did so I know how to get a great pot of soup again! Kids loved it. Cooked 1 c of long grain wild rice (not a seasoned packet) according to directions and set aside. I chopped 1/2 an onion and sauteed it with 3 stalks chopped celery in olive oil and butter. Added 2 tsp garlic to that. Had 3 long chopped carrots (about 18 baby) cooking in 4 c of chicken broth till tender. Added about 1 1/2-2 c of chopped cooked chicken that I had on hand to the broth, then added celery and onion. Made a roux by melting 1/2 c butter in skillet, stirring in seasonings: poultry seasoning, white pepper, herb chicken seasoning and chopped fresh parsley, along with about 2/3 c of flour. Then added about 2/3 c of heavy cream to that. Stir rice and roux into soup mixture. Was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2015
I added more salt and pepper. I also added old bay seasoning to this recipe and it really gave this soup the extra touch that was missing. Without the old bay, I'd give the soup 3 stars because the soup had too much of a milky taste without the extra seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
My husband and I absolutely love this soup!! He regularly requests it. I don't change a thing and it's very easy to make. I've made it between half a dozen and a dozen times. Sometimes we'll even freeze some for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Made it with leftover turkey I had in the freezer. Also, added a splash of wine and since I didn't find the flavour packet I added cumin, ginger and turmeric just as another reviewer suggested. My family loved it. Especially since it snowed today. Comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,610) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States