Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Melanie Wilson Davis
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This soup is fabulous, restaurant quality! love it! Iadded carrot,onion,celery and fresh mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Wilson Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crab Orchard, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Xenia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
No cream, just 1% milk. Added the onions, carrots, celery and sautéed ham instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wayschool

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dorchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Garner, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Took a bit longer then stated to complete. Used prior recommendations added 1/2 cup each of diced onion, peppers, and carrots sautéed in olive oil. Kept everything else the same and it turned out great. A soup good enough to fix for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsPeterson110313
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I have made this about 10 times now and it is a huge hit with guests. Definitely a winter or fall dinner though, very hearty. I add sautéed mushrooms and sweet kernel corn and serve it over honey cornbread. Sometimes I'll also add shredded carrots. Fresh ground peppercorn and sea salt on top. Super yummy. Very simple recipe and always delicious, it just takes some prep work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This was fantastic! I added some kale, mushrooms and onions and sauteed those with olive oil and used milk instead of heavy cream and less salt. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I am only giving 4 stars due to modifications made...but what an awesome base recipe!! I am certain it would be great "as is", but I kind of combined this with another recipe found on site and then followed some suggestions made by others. I used 3 chicken breasts(boiled in homemade veggie broth), homemade chicken broth, Minnesota wild rice (cooked in chicken broth/water), sautéed celery, carrots and shallots in olive oil...added fresh mushrooms. I also used whole milk as opposed to the heavy cream and added about 3/4 cup of white wine the last 15 minutes. It was super tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Love it! I have made this many times now. I add lots of chopped carrots and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
After reading several reviews, I decided to make the following modifications. First, sautee about 1 c. onion (minced) with 4 garlic cloves (minced) in some olive oil. Then add a 14.5 oz can sliced carrots (drained & cut into smaller pieces) and sautee it for a couple more minutes before adding it to the broth, water and chicken. I also use low sodium chicken broth, 8.5 oz of wild rice, 1/3 cup whole wheat flour, 5 tbsp. butter, and 2 cups 1% milk. I also get a small cooked whole chicken from the grocery store and use the chicken from that. I added 1/4 tsp Lawry's seasoned salt (in addition to the 1/2 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp pepper that the recipe calls for). The result is a thick and creamy soup that is A-MAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
A+ I simmer a whole chicken, pick it and use that in it and I think it tastes better but still so easy and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynsey Weber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This was delicious! I added carrots, celery, onion and some a few diced garlic cloves the second time I made it. I didn't have the instant rice so I used long grain wild rice and cooked it in chicken broth. Also added some Thyme. Great recipe by its self or alter it to your taste. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Grange Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Micanopy, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,586) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States