Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Crazy delicious!!! We went gluten free for some company we had by changing out the flour for corn starch (about 1/4 cup) and keeping everything else the same. Wonderful!!! Flavor (I added pepper to mine at the table) was spot on. Kids loved it, adults asked for the recipe! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Very good but a bit rich!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Cut down on butter and cream, still was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I chop & sauté onions, celery & mushrooms. Also use whole milk instead of cream. This is a winner in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Awesome! Added carrots, onions, and celery as suggested in other reviews. Also used reduced sodium broth and 2% milk in place of the cream to try to healthy it up a little bit. Even with those changes, this was a very thick, creamy soup with loads of flavor. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
The only reason I'm not giving this 5 stars is because it seems to be missing something flavor-wise and I'm not sure if it's the recipe's fault or mine... I used 6.5 cups of homemade chicken stock (omitting the water), included the veggies as suggested in the other reviews (carrots, celery, onions, garlic), and used 4 tablespoons each of brown rice flour (gluten-free) and butter and about 1.5 cups of half-and-half. I also added an extra 1/3 cup of white rice. Looking at the reviews I'm now wondering whether I picked the wrong prepackaged wild rice mix. I used Near East brand; maybe I should have used Uncle Ben's instead? Anyway, in every other way the soup is perfect: creamy and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Great Soup! We loved this recipe it's very comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Sautéed small onion, 1/2 c celery, 1/2 cup carrots & 2 cloves garlic - all diced, in tbsp butter first, then followed recipe. Used 1 cup milk & 1/2 cup 5% cream. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This is the best recipe. Made it three times this chilly winter and it's a hit every time. It's a filling meal with fresh bread and a side salad! No major changes - just personal preference: 1) I do add diced carrots & celery - they add some color 2) I used Uncle Bens Classiques Long Grain & Wild Rice mix - it has the seasoning packet and a dried veggies packet. 3) the flour and butter for the roux can be reduced...both for calories sake & the thickness 4) I've used milk and half and half in place of the heavy cream and both still make a very thick soup without the added calories. 5) I don't add any salt and used Campbell's 30% reduced sodium broth - the seasoning packet in the rice offers plenty of salt. I'll be sad winter is almost over (NOT) as this is really more a fall/winter meal! Would be great to take to an après ski party or winter potluck! Oh, and it does continue to thicken up - add a little more chicken broth and it won't dilute the flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Made as is. White rice. Needs salt and some additional spices. Subbed cornstarch and half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,602) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States