Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Delectable......made a dozen times at four times the recipe and even with fat free milk instead of half and half the results are perfect......savor every bite.....outstanding home cooking! I add carrots, celery, onions, mushroom and garlic as I love "full bodied" soups.....WOW! This is perfection in soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Awesome only thing I changed was I cooked rice separately then added it in omitting the water. I did add a few matchstick carrots as well! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Foley, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Even my 5 year old loved this soup. I loved how easy and quick it was to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rose7007
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
GREAT with TONS OF CHANGES. I cannot give a recipe five stars after I have pillaged it and transformed it into something almost unrecognizable from the original recipe. This soup is bland without serious help. Here's what I did to save mine: I sautéed half a sweet onion, 2.5 celery stalks, about 3 carrots and several mushrooms with 3 strips of Neman Ranch applewood smoked bacon and about 2 tablespoons of butter until tender. I transferred veggies to a paper towel to drain the grease & discarded remaining grease from the pan. I used about 1/4 cup white wine to deglaze the pan. I then added chicken stock, water and rice (after a boil). I used about 1/2 cup flour because I have no idea what kind of box of rice this author used -- I have never seen that size from Uncle Ben's or any other brand. I used a 6oz box so I decreased the flour. I used 1.5 cups heavy cream and the rest half and half. When I combined everything, I realized there was far too little rice for my liking. So I added one 90 second microwaveable Uncle Ben's long grain and wild rice pouch, cooked. I also added about three tablespoons of Better than Bouillon (chicken flavor). I needed some additional salt and pepper and two good dollops more "salted" butter before FINALLY I had a restaurant quality soup. Nevermind it could choke Paula Deen it's so fattening & full of butter. I'll work on lightening it up next time. Anyhoo -- great recipe inspiration but not a great recipe without massive overhaul.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I enjoyed this soup very much. The only SLIGHT change I made was adding carrots and I used milk instead of cream. I have no doubt it would have been great if prepared exactly as written. This was an excellent fine and definitely a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Super easy for a busy life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Awesome Restaurant Quality! Made minimal changes....DOUBLE THE RECIPIE...YOU WILL BE GLAD YOU DID! Always start with a mirepoix(carrots,celery,onion)! Used a whold bag of finely chopped carrots and a whole bag peeled and finely chopped celery. You want the celery,carrots and onions to be a little bigger in size than the rice. Fried those in a little oil for about 5 minutes then added 1 cup finely chopped onions to that mix and sauteed' for another 5. Also used a rotisserie chicken that I shreded, leaving off the skin. Also down graded the flour to 1/2 cup when making the roux'(flour and butter. Note...you MUST add the liquid to the roux' NOT the roux' to the liquid or you will get lumps. Also used a 6.5oz package of wild rice. Outstanding soup! My daughter ate if for 3 days straight. After sitting overnight, the soup became way too thick, but I just added more chicken stock and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I love Chicken & Wild Rice Soup - always been one of my favorites. I made this and it is awesome! Now I can have this more often as I have a good base recipe. I did make minor changes. I used 1% milk instead of heavy cream and I added celery and carrots. It was delicious. I would definitely add some milk when reheating because it thickens up a lot overnight in the fridge (but still tastes great!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Made this the other night and my family devoured it. It was delicious. Next time, I might add in some peas and carrots, and use milk instead of the heavy cream as it was very, very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
A big hit with the whole family with two minor modifications: 1) used regular whipping cream instead of heavy cream and 2) used two boxes of wild rice for more bulk (which I'm not sure it needed) but it was yummy none-the-less!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States